Learning about writing systems at a Writing Peace workshop for youth in Almaty

27 August 2018

23 August 2018, the first pilot workshop using UNESCOs unique Writing Peace Manual was held in Almaty in the framework of the III Art Academy of Kazakhstan Federation of UNESCO Clubs.

During a two-hours workshop, 80 school-children from different regions of Kazakhstan learned five writing systems: Greek, Roman, Georgian, Armenian and Tifinagh and acquired new knowledge about the interconnections of different cultures through writing systems. Learning about the origins and transmissions of these writing systems the participating students realized that different peoples, languages and written systems can appear from the same historical roots. They also came to understand the difference between the notion of language and writing systems.

The format of the workshop

All participants were divided into five groups. Each group was offered an alphabet for study. With the help of a tutor and the Writing Peace Manual they were able to learn the necessary data about their written system, solve workshop tasks and independently make a presentation poster.



Having completed the assignment, the five groups presented their alphabets using the new knowledge and creative presentation skills. Thus, other teams were able to learn interesting facts and history about the other writing systems and recognize similarities with the alphabet with which they worked.





youth
intercultural dialogue
social and human sciences
social transformations

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/a-pilot-workshop-on-writing-peace-for-youth-was-held-in-almaty

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

Молодежь изучила письменные системы в рамках семинара по "Написанию Мира".

27 Августа 2018

23 августа 2018 года в рамках III Творческой Академии Казахстанской Федерации клубов ЮНЕСКО, в Алматы прошел первый экспериментальный семинар с использованием уникального учебного руководства «Написание Мира».

80 школьников из разных регионов Казахстана в течение двухчасового мастер-класса изучили пять письменных систем: греческую, латинскую, грузинскую, армянскую и тифинагскую, и получили новые знания о том, как разные культуры взаимосвязаны друг с другом посредством письменных систем; что эти письменные системы унаследовали друг от друга и, что наиболее важно, поняли, что разные народы, языки и письменные системы могут иметь одни исторические корни.

Формат семинара

Все участники были разделены на пять групп. Каждой группе был предложен алфавит для изучения. С помощью наставника и «Руководства по написанию мира» они смогли узнать необходимую информацию и факты об их письменной системе, решить специальные задания семинара и самостоятельно сделать презентационный плакат.



После того как все пять групп завершили свои задания, они приступили к презентации своих алфавитов, используя новые знания и творческие навыки выступления. Таким образом, другие команды смогли узнать интересные факты и историю о других системах письма и определить сходство с алфавитом, с которым они работали.





Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/a-pilot-workshop-on-writing-peace-for-youth-was-held-in-almaty