An international conference dedicated to the 50th anniversary of the UNESCO International Geoscience Programme held in Almaty, Kazakhstan

6 July 2022

On 13-18 June 2022, an international conference Million years before the Silk Road dedicated to the 50th anniversary of the UNESCO International Geoscience Programme (IGCP) was held in Almaty, Kazakhstan. The meeting was organized by the UNESCO Office in Almaty and other partners, supported by the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan. It was held in online and offline mode and brought together about 75 representatives from academia, tourism sector, non-governmental organization, government entities in charge of nature protection, geology, universities and youth from Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Germany, China, Russian Federation, to discuss the importance of preserving unique geological landscapes celebrate earth heritage, promote geosciences education, discuss on geotourism perspectives and geoparks establishment, for the sustainable development of populations in Central Asia, and green societies.


UNESCO

The event focused on 2-day plenary discussions and thematic sessions. A field visit to Zhetysu geopark was organized. During the field trip, organized in Almaty region of Kazakhstan, the participants visited various geosites, as well as cultural and ethnographic monuments in the Zhetysu aspiring geopark, which the local authorities are promoting.


UNESCO

Following the conference, participants proposed to establish a working group of experts from Central Asia, to promote preservation of geological heritage and its promotion for geotourism and geoparks. . As the first task a creation of geological heritage atlas was identified as a priority, would serve as a basis for preservation on valuable sites and promotion for geotourism purposes. All participants agreed on the importance of networking and cooperation between existing UNESCO Global Geoparks, aspiring UNESCO Global Geoparks and geopark projects in Central Asia.


UNESCO

UNESCO, as the only agency in the UN system, promotes international cooperation in geosciences and promotes Global Geoparks as one of its designated sites. UNESCO Global Geoparks empower local communities and give them the opportunity to develop cohesive partnerships with the common goal of promoting the areas with significant geological processes, features, and all other aspects of natural, cultural and intangible heritage. There are still no geoparks in Central Asia, and UNESCO office in Almaty supports the countries to better understand the concept and build capacities of various stakeholders groups in establishing geoparks.


Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/an-international-conference-dedicated-to-the-50th-anniversary-of-the-unesco-international

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

Международная конференция, посвященная 50-летию Международной программы ЮНЕСКО по геонауке состоялась в Алматы, Казахстан

6 июля 2022

13-18 июня 2022 года в Алматы, Казахстан, состоялась международная конференция “Миллионы лет до Шелкового пути”, посвященная 50-летию Международной программы ЮНЕСКО по геонаукам и геопарком (IGCP). Встреча была организована Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы и другими партнерами при поддержке правительства Республики Казахстан, которая проводилась в онлайн и оффлайн режиме и собрала около 75 представителей научных кругов, туристического сектора, неправительственных организаций, государственных структур, отвечающих за охрану природы, геологию, университеты и молодежь из Казахстана, Кыргызстана, Таджикистана, Узбекистана, Германии, Китая и Российской Федерации, для обсуждения важности сохранения уникальных геологических ландшафтов, прославления наследия земли, содействия образованию в области геонаук, обсуждения перспектив геотуризма и создания геопарков, для устойчивого развития населения в Центральной Азии и зеленых обществ.


©ЮНЕСКО

Основное внимание на мероприятии было уделено 2-дневным пленарным дискуссиям и тематическим сессиям, а также была организована выездная экскурсия в геопарк "Жетысу". Во время экскурсии, организованной в Алматинской области Казахстана, участники посетили различные геологические объекты, а также культурные и этнографические памятники в потенциальном геопарке "Жетысу", который продвигают местные власти.



©ЮНЕСКО

По итогам конференции участники предложили создать рабочую группу экспертов из Центральной Азии для содействия сохранению геологического наследия и его продвижению для геотуризма и геопарков. Во время дисскусии было определено, что создание атласа геологического наследия, который должен послужить основой для сохранения ценных объектов и продвижения в целях геотуризма будет одним из основных задач стран региона. Все участники согласились с важностью создания сетей и сотрудничества между существующими глобальными геопарками ЮНЕСКО, будущими глобальными геопарками ЮНЕСКО и проектами геопарков в Центральной Азии.


©ЮНЕСКО

ЮНЕСКО, как единственное учреждение в системе ООН, содействует международному сотрудничеству в области наук о земле и продвигает Глобальные геопарки в качестве одного из своих целевых объектов. Глобальные геопарки ЮНЕСКО расширяют возможности местных сообществ и дают им возможность развивать сплоченные партнерские отношения с общей целью продвижения участков со значительными геологическими процессами, особенностями и всеми другими аспектами природного, культурного и нематериального наследия. В Центральной Азии до сих пор нет геопарков, и офис ЮНЕСКО в Алматы помогает странам лучше понять концепцию и наращивать потенциал различных групп заинтересованных сторон в создании геопарков.

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/an-international-conference-dedicated-to-the-50th-anniversary-of-the-unesco-international