Call for articles and podcasts for the 50th anniversary of the World Heritage Convention

13 November 2021

The World Heritage represents the most exceptional expressions of our humanity and the treasures of our planet. Through the 1972 Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, countries around the world vow to safeguard the places of outstanding universal value through local, national, regional and international actions.

In 2022, the World Heritage Convention marks its 50th anniversary. The 1154 natural and cultural heritage sites in over 160 countries are the testament to the universal appreciation and achievement of this groundbreaking legal framework, which was ignited by a joint call between Egypt and Sudan to save monuments under threat by a newly developed dam.

This landmark year comes at a watershed moment for conservation. The effects of climate change have been tangibly felt by sites around the world, while the increasing volume of tourism has put environmental and social pressure on the properties and surrounding communities alike. The COVID-19 pandemic has revealed the vulnerability of the heritage ecosystem in the face of sudden onset crisis, as demonstrated by the closure of 89% of World Heritage sites [In April 2020, UNESCO has found that 89% of World Heritage sites were partly or fully closed to visitors due to the pandemic. Learn more at https://whc.unesco.org/en/news/2099].

In this context, UNESCO will launch a year-long programme to galvanize profound reflections on the future of heritage titled The Next 50: World Heritage as a source of resilience, humanity and innovation. Events, campaigns, and initiatives will provide a space of conversation and exploration on the role of the World Heritage as well as non-listed heritage in the face of global challenges. Prominent thinkers and luminaries from diverse fields including science and social and human sciences will be invited to imagine World Heritage at its 100th anniversary.

Objective

Throughout the anniversary year, UNESCO will launch various mechanisms conducive to new ideas, knowledge and research around inscribed and non-inscribed heritage sites and its ecosystem. As part of this effort, UNESCO partners with The Conversation to commission articles and podcasts in key thematic areas.

Throughout the anniversary year, UNESCO will launch various mechanisms conducive to new ideas, knowledge and research around inscribed and non-inscribed heritage sites and its ecosystem. As part of this effort, UNESCO partners with The Conversation to commission articles and podcasts in key thematic areas.

The Conversation is a non-profit online media platform specialized in the publication of data-driven articles authored by researchers and experts, with the aim to enrich public debate and ultimately influence policies. With 200 million articles read per month by the public and researchers 70% and 30% of the readership respectively it serves as an online meeting place and a knowledge hub for citizens, scientists and policymakers alike. All articles are under Creative Commons license, which enables redistribution of articles via approximately 22,000 sites and allows for democratic access to quality, data-driven information for citizens around the world a value fully complementary to UNESCOs commitment to and promotion of Open Access [UNESCO promotes and supports Open Access the online availability of scholarly information to everyone, free of most licensing and copyright barriers for the benefit of global knowledge flow, innovation and socio-economic development. Learn more at http://www.unesco.org/new/en/communication-and-information/access-to-knowledge/open-access-to-scientific-information/].

Converging the Organizations leadership in heritage and The Conversations reach and media expertise, this partnership provides a global platform for scientists and experts whose work has made a significant contribution to the protection of natural and cultural heritage over the years while inviting the larger research community to join the global reflection.

Through this inclusive approach, UNESCO aims to spark inter-disciplinary, cutting-edge, thought-provoking discussions from the global research community and citizens, ultimately crowdsourcing a vision for the next 50 years of World Heritage and heritage at large.

Details: https://whc.unesco.org/en/news/2363

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/call-for-articles-and-podcasts-for-the-50th-anniversary-of-the-world-heritage-convention

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

Конкурс статей и подкастов, посвященных 50-летию Конвенции о всемирном наследии

13 ноября 2021

Всемирное наследие воплощает в себе самые исключительные формы выражения нашего человечества и сокровища нашей планеты. В рамках Конвенции 1972 года об охране всемирного культурного и природного наследия страны всего мира обязуются охранять места, обладающие выдающейся универсальной ценностью, посредством действий на местном, национальном, региональном и международном уровнях.

В 2022 году Конвенции о всемирном наследии исполняется 50 лет. 1154 объекта природного и культурного наследия на территории более чем 160 стран свидетельствуют о всеобщем признании и достижении этой новаторской правовой базы, которая была создана благодаря совместному призыву Египта и Судана спасти памятники, находящиеся под угрозой из-за недавно построенной плотины.

Этот знаменательный год приходится на переломный момент в области охраны окружающей среды. Последствия изменения климата ощутимо сказываются на объектах по всему миру, а растущие объемы туризма создают экологическую и социальную нагрузку как на объекты наследия, так и на окружающие сообщества. Пандемия COVID-19 показала уязвимость экосистемы объектов наследия перед лицом внезапно начавшегося кризиса, что было продемонстрировано закрытием 89% объектов всемирного наследия [В апреле 2020 года ЮНЕСКО установила, что 89% объектов всемирного наследия были частично или полностью закрыты для посетителей из-за пандемии. Подробности: https://whc.unesco.org/en/news/2099].

В связи с этим ЮНЕСКО приступает к реализации годичной программы, призванной стимулировать глубокий анализ будущего объектов наследия под названием "Следующие 50: всемирное наследие как источник устойчивости, гуманности и инноваций". Мероприятия, кампании и инициативы данной программы предоставят возможность для обсуждения и изучения роли всемирного наследия, а также наследия, не включенного в Список, перед лицом глобальных вызовов. Выдающиеся мыслители и видные специалисты из различных областей, включая науку, социальные и гуманитарные науки, будут приглашены к обсуждению вопроса о том, каким будет всемирное наследие к своему 100-летнему юбилею.

Цель

В течение всего этого юбилейного года ЮНЕСКО будет инициировать различные механизмы, способствующие появлению новых идей, знаний и исследований, связанных с объектами наследия, включенными и не включенными в Список, и их экосистемой. В рамках этих мер ЮНЕСКО сотрудничает с журналом The Conversation с целью подготовки статей и подкастов по ключевым тематическим направлениям.

The Conversation - некоммерческая онлайн-медиа платформа, специализирующаяся на публикации аналитических статей, авторами которых являются исследователи и эксперты, с целью расширить общественные дискуссии и в конечном итоге повлиять на политику. Она содержит 200 миллионов статей, которые ежемесячно читает широкая общественность и исследователи (70% и 30% читателей соответственно), и служит местом онлайн-встреч и центром знаний как для обычных людей, так и для ученых и политиков. Все статьи публикуются под лицензией Creative Commons, что позволяет распространять их примерно через 22 000 сайтов и обеспечивает демократический доступ к качественной, основанной на данных информации для граждан всего мира - ценность, полностью дополняющая приверженность ЮНЕСКО идее открытого доступа [ЮНЕСКО распространяет и обеспечивает доступность научной информации в онлайн режиме для всех, а также свободный от большинства лицензионных и авторских барьеров, на благо глобального обмена знаниями, инноваций и социально-экономического развития. Подробности: http://www.unesco.org/new/en/communication-and-information/access-to-knowledge/open-access-to-scientific-information/].

Это партнерство, объединяющее ведущую роль Организации в области наследия, а также размах и медиа-экспертизу The Conversation, предоставляет глобальную платформу для ученых и экспертов, чьи работы внесли значительный вклад в защиту природного и культурного наследия на протяжении многих лет, приглашая при этом более широкое научное сообщество присоединиться к этому глобальному анализу.

Используя этот инклюзивный подход, ЮНЕСКО стремится вызвать междисциплинарные, передовые, заставляющие задуматься дискуссии со стороны глобального научного сообщества и рядовых граждан, что в конечном итоге приведет к краудсорсингу для разработки видения следующих 50 лет всемирного наследия и наследия в целом.

Подробности: https://whc.unesco.org/en/news/2363

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/call-for-articles-and-podcasts-for-the-50th-anniversary-of-the-world-heritage-convention