Celebration of the International Day of Women and Girls in Science 2020

30 January 2020

The International Day of Women and Girls in Science, celebrated each year on 11 February, was adopted by the United Nations General Assembly in 2016 to promote full and equal access to and participation in science for women and girls. This day is a reminder that women and girls play a critical role in science and technology communities and that their participation should be strengthened in order to achieve their full and equal access to science, gender equality, and empowerment.

Science and gender equality are critical in achieving the internationally agreed development goals, including the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. UNESCO estimates that women researchers account for 28.4% worldwide, they are actively pursuing Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees and even outnumber men at these levels, but their numbers drop off abruptly at PhD level (Huyer, S. 2018. Is the gender gap narrowing in science and engineering? UNESCO Science Report: Towards 2030). At the regional level, the average proportion of female researchers in Central Asia is 48.1%, with Kazakhstan (53.3%), Kyrgyzstan (49.4%), Uzbekistan (40.2%) and Tajikistan (36.9%) (UNESCO Institute for Statistics, 2018. Women in Science Fact Sheet, No.51.). Despite efforts to encourage women and girls to participate in science, there are many “leakages”: from stereotypes encountered by girls to the family-caring responsibilities and bias women may face when choosing a career.


©Adventure of Science: "Girls and Glaciers” project

Since 2017, the UNESCO Almaty Office has been organizing the celebration of this day with national partners as well as with UN partners to raise awareness of the empowerment of women and girls in science with the focus on vulnerable populations. This year's event, under the slogan “Closing the gender gap”, is aimed at promoting the full and equal access and participation in science of young girls and women, focused on high school students, including girls with disabilities in accordance with the concept of "leaving no one behind".


©UNESCO Almaty

Participants of the event will have the opportunity to visit the UN building, listen to the speeches of female speakers involved in the science and research; to contribute to the development of solutions to global challenges in science; as well as participate in contests and win souvenirs.

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/celebration-of-the-international-day-of-women-and-girls-in-science-2020

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

Празднование Международного дня женщин и девочек в науке 2020

30 Января 2020

Международный день женщин и девочек в науке, отмечаемый каждый год 11 февраля, был утвержден Генеральной Ассамблеей Организации Объединенных Наций в 2016 году для обеспечения полного и равного доступа к науке для женщин и девочек и участия в ней. Этот день является напоминанием о том, что женщины и девочки играют важную роль в научно-технических сообществах и что их участие следует расширять с целью достижения их полного и равного доступа к науке, обеспечения гендерного равенства, расширения прав и возможностей.

Наука и гендерное равенство имеют решающее значение для достижения согласованных на международном уровне целей в области развития, включая Повестку дня в области устойчивого развития на период до 2030 года. По оценкам ЮНЕСКО, женщины-исследователи составляют 28,4% во всем мире, они активно стремятся получить степень бакалавра и магистра и даже превосходят по численности мужчин на этих уровнях, но их число резко снижается на уровне докторантуры (Huyer, S. 2018. Is the gender gap narrowing in science and engineering? UNESCO Science Report: Towards 2030). На региональном уровне средняя доля женщин-исследователей в Центральной Азии составляет 48,1%, в Казахстане (53,3%), Кыргызстане (49,4%), Узбекистане (40,2%) и Таджикистане (36,9%) (UNESCO Institute for Statistics, 2018. Women in Science Fact Sheet, No.51.). Несмотря на предпринимаемые усилия по поощрению и привлечению женщин и девочек к участию в науке, существует множество для «утечки»: от стереотипов, с которыми сталкиваются девочки, до обязанностей по уходу за семьей и предвзятости, с которыми женщины могут столкнуться при выборе профессии.


©Приключения науки: проект "Девочки и Ледники"

С 2017 года, ежегодно, Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы организовывает празднование этого дня с национальными партнерами, а также с партнерами ООН с целью повышения осведомленности о расширении прав и возможностей женщин и девочек в науке с особым фокусом на уязвимые слои населения. Мероприятие этого года, под слоганом «Сокращение гендерного разрыва», направлено на пропаганду полного и равного доступа и участия в науке молодых девушек и женщин, ориентированного на учащихся старших классах, включая девочек с ограниченными возможностями в соответствии с концептом «не оставляя никого в стороне».


©ЮНЕСКО Алматы

Участникам мероприятия представится возможность посетить здание ООН, послушать выступления спикеров-девушек, вовлеченных в науку о проведении исследований; внести свой вклад в выработку решений глобальных вызовов в науке; а также поучаствовать в конкурсах и выиграть памятные подарки.

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/celebration-of-the-international-day-of-women-and-girls-in-science-2020