Experts Call for Glacier Research Centre for Central Asia

6 February 2007

A meeting of climate and water resources experts called for the establishment of a regional centre for glacier research in Central Asia.



The meeting, held in late 2006, brought together about 60 experts, academicians, government representatives and international organizations from Asia, Europe and North America, to discuss glacier retreat and its impact on water resources in Asia.

Central Asia is one of the world's water-stressed areas. "The over 400 glaciers in the region are melting rapidly. Between 1955 and 2000, the glaciers lost 06-0.8 per cent in terms of area and 0.8-1 per cent of their volume per year", Professor I.V. Severskiy of the Institute of Geography, Kazakhstan stated during the meeting.

Mountain ranges of the Asian region include the Altai, Karakoram, Himalyan, Pamir, Tian Shan, and Tibetan Plateaus. These ranges stock the largest volume of ice outside the polar regions. The ranges serve as water towers by providing a continuous supply of fresh water to the lowlands for irrigation, domestic and other purposes.

According to Professor Gordon Young, an expert involved with the UN global water assessment programme and a key contributor to the workshop, "the lives of up to 1.5 billion people or one-fourth of the world’s population may be adversely affected by the rapid melting of snow glaciers in the Asian region”.

Various experts also echoed the concern that water shortages could potentially create not only socio-economic problems but also political instability in the region, as many of the rivers and glaciers cross national boundaries.

The expert meeting approved the 'Almaty Declaration', which calls for a review of on-going and completed research in Central Asia on the hydrological impact of glaciers, snow and permafrost. "The experts also recommend developing a regional network of benchmark basins to investigate the impact of glaciers and snow cover on the hydrological cycle and on the associated socio-economic system", Dr Anil Mishra of UNESCO Almaty Office reports.

The workshop was organized by UNESCO's Man and the Biosphere (MAB) and International Hydrological Programme (IHP), together with the Regional Environmental Centre for Central Asia (CAREC), with support from the European Commission and the Institute of Geography of the Academy of Sciences of Kazakhstan.



International experts from 14 countries travelled to Almaty for the meeting, including specialists from Canada, China, Germany, India, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Nepal, Russian Federation, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and the USA..

For further information: Dr Anil Mishra, UNESCO (a.mishra(at)unesco.org)

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/experts-call-for-glacier-research-centre-for-central-asia

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

Эксперты призывают к созданию Научного центра гляциологии Центральной Азии

6 Февраля 2007

Семинар экспертов в области климата и водных ресурсов призвал к созданию регионального центра гляциологии в Центральной Азии.



Семинар, состоявшийся в конце 2006 года,собрал около 60 экспертов, академиков, представителей правительственных и международных организаций из Азии, Европы и Северной Америки, которые обсудили проблемы таяния ледников и их влияния на водные ресурсы в Азии.

Центральная Азия является одним из регионов мира, где водные ресурсы подвержены стрессовым ситуациям. «Около 400 ледников региона подвержены быстрому таянию. В период с 1995 по 2000 гг. оледенение региона сокращалось ежегодно теряя 0.8-1% своего объема и 06-0.8% площади», - отметил в своем выступлении профессор И. Северский, Институт географии, Казахстан.
Горный массив региона включает Алтай, Каракурум, Гималаи, Памир,Тянь-Шань и Тибетское плато. Он удерживает огромные объемы льда вне полярных шапок земли.Горы выполняют роль водонапорных башень, обеспечивая постоянно предгорные равнины питьевой водой, водой для полива, повседневных нужд и др. целей.

Как сообщил профессор Гордон Янг, эксперт ООН по глобальной оценке водных ресурсов « быстрое таяние ледников Азии может оказать неблагоприятное влияние на жизни более полутора миллиардов человек, или четвертой части населения земли».

Эксперты также высказали обеспокоенность в том, что сокращение водных ресурсов может вызвать не только социально-экономические проблемы, но и политическую нестабильность в регионе, поскольку многие реки и ледники пересекают национальные границы.

Семинар экспертов принял «Алматинскую Декларацию», в которой призывают пересмотреть текущие и завершенные исследования в Центральной Азии по гидрологическому влиянию ледников, снежного покрова и вечной мерзлоты. «Эксперты также предложили региональную сеть водных бассейнов с целью изучения воздействия ледников и снежного покрова на гидрологический цикл и связанные с ним социально-экономические системы», - отметил г-н Анил Мишра, представитель ЮНЕСКО, Алматы.

Семинар организован Программой ЮНЕСКО «Человек и биосфера» (MAB) и Международной Гидрологической Программой (IHP), совместно с Региональным экологическим центром Центральной Азии (CAREC), при поддержке Европейской Комиссии и Института географии Академии наук Казахстана.



Для участия в семинаре в Алматы приехали международные эксперты из 14 стран: Канады, Китая, Германии, Японии, Иордании, Индии, Кыргызстана, Непала, России, Швейцарии, Таджикистана, Узбекистана и США.

За дополнительной информацией обращаться:г-н Анил Мишра, ЮНЕСКО, Алматы (a.mishra(at)unesco.org)

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/experts-call-for-glacier-research-centre-for-central-asia