'Hunger for Information’: Kyrgyz Residents Value Community Media

31 March 2021

Media pluralism and independent journalism need local talents. UNESCO’s International Programme for the Development of Communication (IPDC) supported the education of 39 journalism teachers at 11 Kyrgyz universities. These teachers spread professional knowledge on “Community Media” to their students.

“Community media are of great importance not only for a certain region but also for the entire Republic of Kyrgyzstan, since events, problems and achievements of rural residents remain aloof from the nationwide information flow”, tells us Kymbat Bolotbekova. She teaches journalism at Kyrgyz State University. Though a rather small country with 6.5 million people, Kyrgyzstan is a mostly mountainous country, which makes it difficult to reach rural communities, even for national media. UNESCO, therefore, supports reaching and hearing these communities through the International Programme for the Development of Communication (IPDC). Together with the Association of Community Media of Kyrgyzstan, UNESCO Almaty launched the “University-based Learning of Community Media Specialists” course.


Journalist students discussing community media at Kyrgyz State University. ©UNESCO/Kymbat Bolotbekova

Dr Elira Turdubaeva, president of the Association of Communicators in Kyrgyzstan which unites all journalism teachers in Kyrgyzstan, conducted training for Kyrgyz educators on journalism and guest speakers from New Zealand and Australia who have both teaching and practical experience with community media. Before implementing the course “Community Media” at Kyrgyz universities, local producers of community media in Kyrgyzstan delivered seminars on the development and challenges of their day-to-day work. Over several weeks, journalism teachers learnt how to design a course and how to teach a “Community Media” course. According to Turdubaeva, “our project aimed at launching a new course on adapting UNESCO model on journalism education to the regional context of Kyrgyzstan. “Interestingly, a large number of beneficiaries are women! Academia and journalism, in general, are very ‘female’ in Kyrgyzstan”, Turdubaeva adds.

Studying what Community Media is – and why it is important

As a first step, IPDC’s “Community Media” project raised awareness among journalists and teachers of the very existence of community media. After learning and exchanging the importance and function of local media, they spread their professional knowledge to their students through the course “Community Media” in their education programs; the IDPC provided teaching material and a course guidebook. Over one semester, journalism students at 10 universities practised using and improving community media resources, working with mobile technological devices, and conducting research on a small budget. Teachers also initiated summer internship opportunities at community radio stations and multimedia centers.

Intrigued by this training, Begimay Almazova, a masters student of journalism at Kyrgyz National University, started researching the “Tendencies and Perspectives of Community Media Development in Kyrgyzstan” in her master thesis. She conducted in-depth interviews with editors and volunteers of 14 local media and radio stations in Kyrgyzstan, heads of municipalities, members of rural communities and analysed focus-group discussions on community media. “One of my observations is”, says Almazova, “that inhabitants of remote villages have a ‘hunger for information’. Community media meets these needs. Rural residents value and trust local community reporting, even though it might not be completely professional.”


Student Begimay Almazova conducts a focus-group interview with school teachers and village people in Kizil-Bulak (Osh Oblast). ©UNESCO/Begimay Almazova

Pandemic affects learning-environment: lack of equipment and internet access

However, COVID-19 made the learning environment more difficult than in previous years. “The pandemic had a very severe impact on our course. In many regions the internet connection did not work and we therefore often missed classes”, recalled journalism student Zarylgul Mederkulova (Kyrgyz State University). Ainura Eraileva, teaching “Community Media” at International Kuwait University in Bishkek, noticed that the course suffered from some students' lack of digital equipment. Likewise, student Gulniza Zhunus kyzy (Osh State) University, stressed difficulties that occured while learning remotely. Nevertheless, “we were learning through using new technologies ourselves”, she concluded. On community media, she emphasizes that “there is a need to open more community media centers in villages – because they play a very important role in delivering information to local communities”.

At the moment, there are three community radio stations airing in Kyrgyzstan, and 21 community multimedia centers. “Community media informs, brings people together and provides an opportunity to keep up with the times. Local issues are raised and discussed through their media. This is exactly what our regions lack – joint discussions of local problems”, urges Kymbat Bolotbekova.


In 2020, 11 Kyrgyz universities developed and taught community media within the IPDC project:
  • University of Central Asia
  • Kyrgyz National University
  • International University of Kyrgyzstan
  • International Kuwait University
  • Kyrgyz State University Arabayev
  • Ala Too International University
  • Osh State University
  • Bishkek State University
  • Kyrgyz-Russian Slavic University
  • American University of Central Asia
  • Kyrgyz-Turkish Manas University

Students discussing community media. ©UNESCO/Kymbat Bolotbekova


International media experts and teachers developed the community media course for Kyrgyz universities, Bishkek, November 2019. ©UNESCO

Download community media course in Kyrgyz, Russian and English languages here.
open solutions; COVID-19; CI Response to pandemic; open education resources

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/hunger-for-information-kyrgyz-residents-value-community-media

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

Жажда информации: жители Кыргызстана оценили общинные средства информации

31 Марта 2021

Плюрализм СМИ и независимая журналистика нуждаются в местных талантах. Международная программа развития коммуникации (МПРК) ЮНЕСКО поддержала обучение 39 преподавателей журналистики из 11 ВУЗов Кыргызстана. Теперь они передают профессиональные знания о сути общинных средств информации своим студентам.

«Общинные медиа имеют большое значение не только для определенного региона, но и для всей Республики Кыргызстан, поскольку события, проблемы и достижения сельских жителей остаются в стороне от общенационального информационного потока», - говорит Кымбат Болотбекова. Она преподает журналистику в Кыргызском государственном университете. Несмотря на то, что Кыргызстан - довольно небольшая страна с населением шесть с половиной миллионов человек, в основном это горная страна, что затрудняет доступ сельским общинам даже для национальных СМИ. ЮНЕСКО поддерживает работу этих сообществ с помощью МПРК. Совместно с Ассоциацией общинных средств информации Кыргызстана ЮНЕСКО в Алматы запустило курс «Обучение ВУЗовских специалистов общинным медиа».


Студенты обсуждают общинные средства информации (Кыргызский государственный университет). ©ЮНЕСКО/Кымбат Болотбекова

Доктор Элира Турдубаева, президент Ассоциации коммуникаторов Кыргызстана, объединяющей всех преподавателей журналистики в Кыргызстане, провела тренинг для преподавателей журналистики и пригласила приглашенных специалистов из Новой Зеландии и Австралии, которые имеют как преподавательский, так и практический опыт работы с местными СМИ. Перед внедрением курса «Общинных медиа» в кыргызских университетах местные производители общинных радио и мультимедиа центров Кыргызстана провели семинары по развитию и решению проблем их повседневной работы. За несколько недель преподаватели журналистики узнали, как разработать свой курс и как его вести. По словам Турдубаевой, «Проект был направлен на запуск нового курса адаптируя модель журналистского образования ЮНЕСКО к региональному контексту Кыргызстана. «Интересно, что большое количество бенефициаров - женщины! Академия и журналистика в Кыргызстане в целом очень «женские», - добавляет Турдубаева.

Изучение того, что такое общинные средства информации и почему они важны

В качестве первого шага проект МПРК «Поддержка общинных медиа» повысил осведомленность журналистов и учителей о самом существовании средств информации для местных сообществ. Узнав и обменявшись информацией о важности и функциях общинных средств информации, они распространяют свои профессиональные знания среди своих студентов через курс «Общинные медиа» в своих образовательных программах; МПРК предоставил учебные материалы и пример курса. В течение одного семестра студенты-журналисты в 10 университетах практиковались использовать и улучшать медиаресурсы местных сообществ, работе с мобильными устройствами и проведении исследований с минимальным бюджетом. Учителя также инициировали возможности летней стажировки на общинных радиостанциях и в мультимедийных центрах.

Заинтригованная этим курсом, Бегимай Алмазова, магистрант журналистики Кыргызского национального университета, начала исследовать «Тенденции и перспективы развития общинных медиа в Кыргызстане» в своей магистерской диссертации. Она провела глубинные интервью с редакторами и волонтерами 14 мультимедийных центров и общинных радиостанций Кыргызстана, главами муниципалитетов, членами сельских сообществ и проанализировала обсуждения в фокус-группах, посвященных общинным медиа. «Одно из моих наблюдений, - говорит Алмазова, то - что жители удаленных айылов испытывают «информационный голод». И общинные медиа удовлетворяют эти потребности. Сельские жители ценят и доверяют репортажам из местных сообществ, даже если они могут быть не полностью профессиональными».


Студент Бегимай Алмазова проводит групповое интервью с учителями школ и жителями села Кызыл-Булак (Ошская область). ©ЮНЕСКО/Бегимай Алмазова

Пандемия влияет на учебную среду: отсутствие оборудования и доступа в Интернет

Однако COVID-19 сделал учебную среду более сложной, чем в предыдущие годы. «Пандемия очень сильно повлияла на наш курс. Во многих регионах интернет не работал, поэтому мы часто пропускали занятия », - вспоминает студентка факультета журналистики Зарылгуль Медеркулова (Бишкекский государственный университет). Айнура Эраилева, преподаватель «Общинных медиаa» в Международном Кувейтском университете в Бишкеке, заметила, что курс страдает от нехватки цифрового оборудования у некоторых студентов. Также студентка Гульниз Жунус кызы (Ошский государственный) подчеркнула трудности, возникающие при дистанционном обучении. Тем не менее, «мы сами учились, используя новые технологии», - заключила она. Что касается общинных медиа, она подчеркивает, что «необходимо открывать больше общинных медиацентров в деревнях, потому что они играют очень важную роль в доставке информации местным сообществам».

В настоящее время в Кыргызстане вещают три общинные радиостанции и 21 общинный мультимедийный центр. «Общинные медиа информируют, объединяют людей и дают возможность идти в ногу со временем. Местные проблемы поднимаются и обсуждаются с их участием. Именно этого и не хватает нашим регионам - совместного обсуждения местных проблем», - призывает Кымбат Болотбекова.


В итоге 11 кыргызских университетов разработали программу обучения общинным медиа в рамках проекта ЮНЕСКО МПРК в 2020 году:
  • Университет Центральной Азии
  • Кыргызский национальный университет
  • Международный университет Кыргызстана
  • Международный Кувейтский университет
  • Кыргызский государственный университет им. Арабаева
  • Международный университет Ала Тоо
  • Ошский государственный университет
  • Бишкекский государственный университет
  • Кыргызско-Российский Славянский университет
  • Американский университет в Центральной Азии
  • Кыргызско-Турецкий университет "Манас"

Студенты обсуждают общинные средства информации. ©ЮНЕСКО/Кымбат Болотбекова


Первый семинар 2 ноября 2019 года в Бишкеке. ©ЮНЕСКО



Курс общинных средств информации скачать на:

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/hunger-for-information-kyrgyz-residents-value-community-media