International Day against Illicit Trafficking in Cultural Property

16 November 2020

Held every year on 14 November, the International Day against Illicit Trafficking in Cultural Property reminds the world that theft, looting and illicit trafficking of cultural property takes place in every country, robbing people of their culture, identity and history, and that we have to work together to combat this crime.

Illicit trafficking in cultural property has many causes, and ignorance and poor ethics are at its very root. Illicitly traded cultural property is often transferred either through illicit markets worldwide or through licit markets such as auctions, including through the Internet. People, governments, the art-market and institutions can do their part to fight this by raising awareness, being informed and ethical when buying and selling art and cultural objects, enacting and respecting laws, and protecting cultural heritage and property.

UNESCO first adopted 14 November as the International Day against Illicit Trafficking in Cultural Property during its 40th General Conference in 2019, with the aim of drawing more attention to this crime and the ways to combat it, as well as to highlight the importance of international cooperation and proactive measures through the Convention on the Means of Prohibiting and Preventing the Illicit Import, Export and Transfer of Ownership of Cultural Property (1970). This Convention, which celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2020, provides an international framework for the prevention of theft and looting and the return and return of stolen cultural property, in parallel with other advances in the fight against illicit trafficking.

We must all join together to fight illicit trafficking in cultural property.

"On this International Day, UNESCO therefore calls upon everyone to realize that stealing, selling or buying a looted work is tantamount to participating in pillaging peoples heritage and robbing their memories. "

Audrey Azoulay, Director General

Conference Livstream
Message from Ms Audrey Azoulay, Director-General of UNESCO, on the occasion of International Day against Illicit Trafficking in Cultural Property can be accessed here.
culture+illicit trafficking+cultural heritage+cultural property+illicit import+international day against illicit trafficking

Related link

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/international-day-against-illicit-trafficking-in-cultural-property

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

Международный день борьбы с незаконным оборотом культурных ценностей

16 Ноября 2020

Международный день борьбы с незаконным оборотом культурных ценностей, ежегодно проводимый 14 ноября, напоминает миру о том, что хищение, разграбление и незаконный оборот культурных ценностей имеют место во всех странах, лишая людей их культуры, самобытности и истории, и что мы должны работать вместе, чтобы бороться с подобными преступлениями.

Незаконный оборот культурных ценностей имеет множество причин, и в его основе лежат невежество и низкий уровень этики. Незаконно продаваемые культурные ценности часто перемещаются либо через незаконные рынки по всему миру, либо через законные рынки, такие как аукционы, в том числе через Интернет. Народы, правительства, рынок произведений искусства и учреждения могут внести свой вклад в борьбу с этим явлением путем повышения осведомленности, информирования и соблюдения этических норм при покупке и продаже предметов искусства и культурных ценностей, принятия и соблюдения законов и защиты культурного наследия и ценностей.

ЮНЕСКО впервые провозгласила 14 ноября Международным днем борьбы с незаконным оборотом культурных ценностей на своей 40-й Генеральной конференции в 2019 году, с тем чтобы привлечь больше внимания к этому преступлению и путям борьбы с ним, а также подчеркнуть важность международного сотрудничества и активных мер в рамках Конвенции о мерах, направленных на запрещение и предупреждение незаконного ввоза, вывоза и передачи права собственности на культурные ценности (1970 год). Эта Конвенция, которой в 2020 году исполнилось 50 лет, обеспечивает международную основу для предотвращения краж и грабежей, а также возвращения похищенных культурных ценностей, наряду с другими достижениями в борьбе с незаконным оборотом.

"В этот день 14 ноября ЮНЕСКО хотела бы призвать каждого из нас осознать, что кража культурных ценностей, продажа или покупка похищенного произведения – это участие в разграблении народов и их памяти. "

Послание Генерального директора ЮНЕСКО г-жи Одрэ Азуле

Прямая трансляция конференции
Послание Генерального директора ЮНЕСКО г-жи Одрэ Азуле по случаю Международного дня борьбы с незаконным оборотом культурных ценностей можно прочитать по ссылке.

Ссылка на дополнительную информацию

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/international-day-against-illicit-trafficking-in-cultural-property