Kyrgyzstan: WiFi access to online library is launched in Kara-Suu village

14 September 2014

700 residents from Kara-Suu village in Chui Region will get better opportunities for self-expression and access to information due to the activities of the Public Fund "Kloop Media" supported by UNESCO Office in Almaty in the framework of the EU-UN Project “Operationalizing Good Governance for Social Justice in Kyrgyzstan“.

Public Foundation "Kloop Media supported by UNESCO Almaty has launched a unique pilot project in the absence of available Internet. In a community multimedia center, which is situated in remote village of Kara-Suu, the server is installed where the electronic collection of training programs, educational videos, and multimedia products of the media center and much more are downloaded. Popular news websites are updated daily on the server through 3G Internet connection. Now residents of Kara-Suu have free access to all of the mentioned services with the help of Wi-Fi connection, which covers the whole village.

I will tell all of my classmates and relatives. We all have smart phones, hence everyone will be able to use our online library.

Ms. Erkaiym Azarkulova, 11th grade student and an active participant of the Community Multimedia Center, Karasu village, Kyrgyzstan

“The residents of our village now learned that it is possible to receive the information for free, to listen a radio reports, to watch video and read news on the mobile phones or notebooks” says Sultanaly Chakchagaev, a head of community multimedia center. He also adds, now it is fall season and it is time of gathering and selling the harvest. The villagers will purchase equipments for their earnings to use our online library in their spare time.

The speed of access to the materials on the server many times exceeds the speed of mobile or terrestrial Internet connection. Access to the server for the villagers is free.

After installing the server in Kara-Suu, the popularity of smart phones and tablets in the village will be greatly enhanced.

"I will tell all of my classmates and relatives. We all have smart phones, hence everyone will be able to use our online library," says Erkaiym Azarkulova, a student of 11th grade and an active participant of the community multimedia center.

In addition Kloop media improved access to Community Media website Kyrgyzmedia, it is supported now the multilingual interface and various queries. Various social media exchange is available as well.

The activity was implemented in the framework of the joint EU and UN project "Operationalizing Good Governance for Social Justice," which was launched in October 2011 and carried out within 36 months up to October 2014. The project aims to increase the potential for the realization of legitimate rights of citizens regarding public services, especially for vulnerable groups - women, youth and children in 30 rural municipalities in seven regions of Kyrgyzstan. This project is implemented by UNDP, UNICEF, UN Women and UNESCO. The European Union participates in the financing of this project, together with the above-mentioned UN agencies.

Related link

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/kyrgyzstan-wifi-access-to-online-library-is-launched-in-kara-suu-village

Кыргызстан: Запущен WiFi доступ к онлайн библиотеке в селе Кара-Cуу

14 Сентября 2014

700 жителей села Кара-Суу Чуйской области улучшат доступ к информации, благодаря мероприятиям, проводимым Общественным Фондом «Клооп Медиа» при поддержке Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы в рамках совместного проекта ЕС и ООН по содействию добросовестному управлению в Кыргызстане.

Общественным Фондом «Клооп Медиа» при поддержке Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы осуществлен уникальный пилотный проект в условиях отсутствия доступного интернета. В общинном мультимедиа центре отдаленного села Кара-Суу установлен сервер, куда загружена электронная коллекция обучающих программ, учебных видеофильмов, а также мультимедийная продукция самого медиа центра и многое другое. Новостные популярные сайты ежедневно обновляются на сервере за счет 3G подключения к интернету. Теперь карасуйцы имеют ко всему этому свободный доступ – Wi-Fi охватывает все село.

Расскажу всем своим одноклассникам и родственникам. У нас в классе у всех есть смартфоны, теперь все смогут свободно пользоваться нашей библиотекой.

Эркеайым Азаркулова, ученица 11 класса и активная участница общинного мультимедиа центра в селе Карасу, Кыргызстан

«Жители нашего села узнали, что можно свободно получать информацию, слушать радиовыпуски, смотреть видеосюжеты, читать новости через телефон или ноутбук, - говорит Султаналы Чакчагаев, руководитель общинного мультимедиа центра. - Сейчас осень, сбор и продажа урожая, на вырученные средства они приобретают технику, чтобы на досуге пользоваться нашей он-лайн библиотекой».

Скорость доступа к материалам на сервере многокртано превышает скорость мобильного или наземного интернет-соединения. Доступ к серверу для жителей села - бесплатный.

После установки сервера популярность смартфонов и планшетов в селе сильно возрастет. «Расскажу всем своим одноклассникам и родственникам. У нас в классе у всех есть смартфоны, теперь все смогут свободно пользоваться нашей библиотекой», - говорит Эркеайым Азаркулова, ученица 11 класса и активная участница общинного мультимедиа центра.

Также Клооп Медиа улучшил доступ к вебсайту Kyrgyzmedia, предоставив возможность выборки информации по запросу пользователей на четырех языках региона. Это поможет переводу материалов сайта с кыргызского на английский и русский языки, а также и обмену в различных социальных сетях.

Деятельность и тренинги организованы в рамках совместного проекта ЕС и ООН «Продвижение добросовестного управления для достижения социальной справедливости», который был запущен в октябре 2011 года и осуществляется в течение 36 месяцев до октября 2014 года. Проект направлен на повышение потенциала для воплощения справедливых прав граждан на коммунальные услуги, особенно для уязвимых групп населения - женщин, молодежи и детей в 30 сельских муниципалитетах в 7 регионах Кыргызстана. Этот проект реализуется ПРООН, ЮНЕСКО, ЮНИСЕФ и ООН-Женщины. Европейский Союз участвует в финансировании этого проекта совместно с вышеупомянутыми учреждениями ООН.

Ссылка на дополнительную информацию

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/kyrgyzstan-wifi-access-to-online-library-is-launched-in-kara-suu-village