Nanjing Peace Forum 2020:The Role of Youth in Peacebuilding

19 October 2020

The registration is open until 22 October 2020. Please fill the form.

Background

Youth is high on the agenda of peacebuilding, global and regional development due to various reasons, the key one being the demographic situation and future projections up to the year 2030 and beyond.

It is projected that by 2030, the world will be home to 1.3 billion young people. As of 2018, the youth comprised 17.54 million or 26,4% out of the total of 66.53 million population in Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. There are 32 million young people aged between 14 and 29 in Russia, i.e. 46.7% out of 146.7 million of the total population. There are many countries of the Eurasian region, which are young, and for which human capital is an abundant and still growing resource. This is why these countries need to prioritize youth and have policies on youth development, with investments in social infrastructure, education, and health in place.

Throughout the turbulent 1990s, the Central Asian region underwent immense structural, social, economic and ideological shifts. As a result, the societies experienced deep polarization and development imbalances in all fields. This presented challenges for nation-building and social cohesion. This situation was further aggravated by the spread of radical ideologies of various origins, including radicalization of the youth, labour and migration flows and broader globalized and geopolitical contexts.

As a result, the challenges of social cohesion and solidarity became inevitably linked to the issues of peace and development, both within these societies and in the region. For Central Asia and the wider region, the peace and peacebuilding agenda is the development agenda, and vice versa, as neither is possible without the other, and these, in turn, are intrinsically linked with youth-related issues.

The global COVID-19 pandemic increased and multiplied the existing challenges, revealing the lacuna and gaps that need to be overcome. More than ever the stabilization and the attainment of SDGs calls for a coherent approach for the countries of the Eurasian region to implement the shift from a demographic dividend into a peace dividend.

Against this background, the UNESCO Almaty Cluster Office joins the 2020 Nanjing Peace Forum by giving a voice to youth to enlarge and strengthen the networks of young peacebuilders in Eurasia, and to empower them to take the lead in the creation of a universal culture of human rights-based peace, stability and social cohesion.

Specifically, this session will focus on the positive role youth can play within the societies, fostering stability and social cohesion and conflict prevention; to reflect on the challenges related to the youth participation in the societies, and identify opportunities for support. With the aim of promoting and enhancing the role of young people in being active global citizens, the panellists are invited to share their insights and experiences about youths engagement in fostering stable and peaceful societies and peacebuilding from the social, cultural and gender perspectives.

The Session will address following topics:

- Youth challenges and opportunities of youth in building stable societies and promoting social cohesion;
- COVID-19 impact on youths peacebuilding efforts;
- Youth recommendations on support of the youth sector in the promotion of culture of peace in the Eurasian region.

The Session will be conducted in the Russian and English languages.

Contacts:

Ms. Arina Myassoyed, a.myassoyed@unesco.org

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/nanjing-peace-forum-2020-the-role-of-youth-in-peacebuilding

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

Nanjing Peace Forum 2020:Роль молодежи в миростроительстве

19 Октября 2020

Регистрация открыта до 22 октября 2020 года.Пожалуйста заполните данную форму.

Введение

Молодежь занимает важное место в повестке дня миростроительства, глобального и регионального развития по разным причинам, ключевой из которых является демографическая ситуация и прогнозы на будущее до 2030 года и далее.

Прогнозируется, что к 2030 году в мире будет проживать 1,3 миллиарда молодых людей. По данным на 2018 год, молодежь составила 17,54 миллиона человек или 26,4% от общей численности населения в 66,53 миллиона человек в Казахстане, Кыргызстане, Таджикистане и Узбекистане. В России насчитывается порядка 32 миллионов молодых людей в возрасте от 14 до 29 лет, то есть На протяжении бурных 1990-х годов центральноазиатский регион претерпел огромные структурные, социальные, экономические и идеологические сдвиги. В результате общества испытали глубокую поляризацию и дисбаланс развития во всех областях. Это создало проблемы для государственного строительства и социальной сплоченности. Ситуация усугублялась распространением радикальных идеологий различного происхождения, включая радикализацию молодежи, трудовых и миграционных потоков, а также глобализацию и геополитический аспект в более широком контексте.

В результате, проблемы социальной сплоченности и солидарности были неизбежно связаны с проблемами мира и развития как внутри этих обществ, так и в регионе. Для Центральной Азии и региона в целом повестка дня мира и миростроительства - это повестка дня в области развития, и наоборот, поскольку ни одна из них невозможна без другой, а они, в свою очередь, неразрывно связаны с проблемами молодежи.

Глобальная пандемия COVID-19 увеличила и умножила существующие проблемы, выявив пробелы и барьеры, которые необходимо преодолеть. Более чем когда-либо стабилизация и достижение ЦУР требуют от стран Евразийского региона последовательного подхода к реализации перехода от демографического дивиденда к мирному дивиденду.

На этом фоне Кластерное бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы присоединяется к Нанкинскому Форуму Мира 2020 года, предоставляя возможность молодым людям расширить и укрепить сети молодых миротворцев в Евразии и дать им возможность играть ведущую роль в создании универсальной культуры человечества, основанной на правах мира, стабильности и социального единства.

В частности, это заседание будет сосредоточено на положительной роли, которую молодежь может играть в обществе, укрепляя стабильность и социальную сплоченность и предотвращая конфликты; размышлять о проблемах, связанных с участием молодежи в жизни общества, и определять возможности для их поддержки. С целью поощрения и повышения роли молодых людей, как активных граждан мира участникам дискуссии предлагается поделиться своими взглядами и опытом в отношении участия молодежи в построении стабильных и мирных обществ и миростроительстве с социальной, культурной и гендерной точек зрения.

На сессии будут рассмотрены следующие темы:

- Проблемы и возможности молодежи в построении стабильных обществ и содействии социальной сплоченности;
- Влияние COVID-19 на усилия молодежи по миростроительству;
- Молодежные рекомендации по поддержке молодежного сектора в продвижении культуры мира в Евразийском регионе.

Сессия будет проводиться на русском и английском языках.

Контакты:

Арина Мясоед, a.myassoyed@unesco.org

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/nanjing-peace-forum-2020-the-role-of-youth-in-peacebuilding