New Impetus for Protection of Intangible Cultural Heritage in Kazakhstan

24 April 2012

National experts took part in a training workshop on implementing the UNESCO Convention for the Safeguarding Intangible Cultural Heritage, 6-10 April 2012 in Astana, Kazakhstan. The training was organized by the UNESCO Cluster Office in Almaty and supported by the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, in cooperation with the National Commission of the Republic of Kazakhstan for UNESCO and ISESCO and the Kazakhstan National Federation of UNESCO Clubs.

The training aimed to improve the understanding and use of practical mechanisms for implementing the Convention at the national level, for example, the creation of intangible cultural heritage (ICH) lists, the inclusion of intangible cultural heritage elements in the Conventions nomination lists, as well as strengthening international cooperation. The training emphasized the need to enhance the role of the government, NGOs, communities and media directly in the identification, inventory and preservation of ICH.

The training was attended by officials from the Ministry of Culture and Information, the Agency for Tourism and Sport, representatives of leading universities in Kazakhstan, members of the National Committee for the Safeguarding of ICH, experts from the UNESCO Observatory on Central Asia, as well as creators of ICH elements - artisans, musicians and storytellers.

According to, Illia Fetysov, UNESCO consultant on implementation of the Convention for the Protection of Intangible Cultural Heritage, Kazakhstan participantsí knowledge of Convention mechanisms was very high despite the fact that ratification only recently took place in the country.
On December 28, 2011 Kazakhstan submitted to the Director-General of UNESCO its ratification of the Convention for the Protection of Intangible Cultural Heritage (adopted in Paris on October 17, 2003). Kazakhstan became the 142nd State Party to the Convention. On November 9, 2011 Kazakhstan's parliament approved a draft law "On Ratification of the Convention for Safeguarding Intangible Cultural Heritage."

In 2012 - 2013 the UNESCO Cluster Office in Almaty plans to conduct similar trainings in Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/new-impetus-for-protection-of-intangible-cultural-heritage-in-kazakhstan

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

Охрана нематериального культурного наследия в Казахстане получает новый импульс

24 Апреля 2012

С 6 по 10 апреля 2012 года в г. Астана (Казахстан) состоялся тренинг для национальных специалистов по реализации Конвенции ЮНЕСКО об охране нематериального культурного наследия. Тренинг был организован Кластерным Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы при поддержке Норвежского Министерства иностранных дел, в сотрудничестве с Национальной комиссии Республики Казахстан по делам ЮНЕСКО и ИСЕСКО и Казахстанской Национальной Федерацией Клубов ЮНЕСКО.

Цель тренинга – улучшение понимания и использования практических механизмов реализации Конвенции на национальном уровне, создание перечней нематериального культурного наследия (НКН), включение элементов НКН в номинационные списки Конвенции, а также укрепление международного сотрудничества. На тренинге подчеркивалась необходимость повышения роли государства, НПО, сообществ и непосредственно носителей элементов НКН в идентификации, инвентаризации и сохранении НКН.

В работе тренинга приняли участие сотрудники Министерства культуры и информации РК, Агентства по туризму и спорту РК, представители ведущих ВУЗов страны, члены Национального комитета по сохранению НКН, эксперты Обсерватории ЮНЕСКО по Центральной Азии, а также непосредственные носители элементов НКН – ремесленники, музыканты, сказители.
По словам, Ильи Фетисова, консультанта ЮНЕСКО по выполнению Конвенции об охране нематериального культурного наследия, уровень знаний механизмов выполнения Конвенции у казахстанских участников весьма высок, несмотря на недавнюю её ратификацию.

Напомним, что 28 декабря 2011 года Генеральному директору ЮНЕСКО был передан акт о ратификации Казахстаном Конвенции об охране нематериального культурного наследия (принята в Париже, 17 октября 2003 г). Казахстан стал 142-м государством-участником Конвенции. 9 ноября 2011 года казахстанские парламентарии одобрили проект закона «О ратификации Конвенции об охране нематериального культурного наследия».

В 2012 - 2013 году Кластерное Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы планирует продолжить проведение подобных тренингов в Кыргызстане, Таджикистане и Узбекистане.

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/new-impetus-for-protection-of-intangible-cultural-heritage-in-kazakhstan