Rural communities in Kyzylorda improve media and information literacy

9 November 2017

Media and Information Literacy Workshop for Community multimedia centers of the Syr Darya River basin organized in Kyzylorda city from 9 to 11 November 2017, organized by UNESCO Almaty, in cooperation with IREX Europe and assistance of Minber Foundation from Kazakhstan.

In the evolving knowledge societies of today, some people are overloaded with information, others are starved for information.

This inequality is especially evident in comparing the level of access to information of rural and urban communities. Its overcoming is entrusted to the UN Sustainable Development Goal 10.

Opening Ceremony: Nurzhamal Myrzamuratova, Director of the Tazhibaev, Kyzylorda Oblast Library; Sergey Karpov, UNESCO; Esengil Kap, Minber Foundation. ©UNESCO Almaty

In this regard Media and Information Literacy recognizes the primary role of information and media in our everyday lives. It lies at the core of freedom of expression and information - since it empowers citizens to understand the functions of media and other information providers, to critically evaluate their content, and to make informed decisions as users and producer of information and media content.

Taking into consideration the progress made by the community multimedia centers of Kyzylorda oblast, in the production of its own media content and the dissemination of information about the life of the villages, as well as providing information to the inhabitants of their own communities received from state bodies, UNESCO organized a series of seminars to help citizens participate in local government through media and information literacy. In the current workshop

Exersise ©UNESCO Almaty

UNESCO invites 30 youth volunteers and librarians of the following community multimedia centres: Akkum, Madeniet, Sulutobe, Enbekshi, Temenaryk, Sekseuil, Zhaksykylysh, Zhankozha, Zhanakorgan, Zhosaly, Orkendeu, Inkardariya, Akzharma, Toretam, III International and Aral.

Feature of the seminar in the participation of IREX Europe prepared training materials and modules aimed to train local information producers with the pragmatic approach to assessment of external information flows. The partners will work together with the Minber Fund who will translate modules into Kazakh and connect their own rich and contextualized experience.

Before the workshop on 7-8 November 2017, UNESCO Almaty organized the mission to the villages located in the Syr Darya river basin of Kyzylorda region, to study local communities needs in terms of Media and Information Literacy and institutional capacities.

"Sulutobe" Community Multimedia Center is located in Shieli district of Kyzylorda Oblast ©UNESCO Almaty

Gulnur Kuntorova, CMC Sulutobe; Rimma Turmanova, CMC "III International" making an exersise ©UNESCO Almaty

Workshop is organized under Kyzylorda UN joint programme in cooperation with the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Ministry of regional development of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Akimat of Kyzylorda oblast and six organizations of the UN system – UNESCO, UNDP, UNICEF, UNFPA, WHO and UN Women to enhance well-being and quality of life in the Kyzylorda region through innovative approaches by delivering economic, social and environmental services to local population, particularly the most vulnerable parts of the population.
community media

Permanent link:

Сельские общины Кызылординской области повышают медийную и информационную грамотность

9 Ноября 2017

Семинар по медийной и информационной грамотности для общинных мультимедийных центров бассейна реки Сырдарья, пройдет с 9 по 11 ноября 2017 года в городе Кызылорда. Семинар организован ЮНЕСКО в Алматы в сотрудничестве с АЙРЕКС Европа при содействии Минбер, фонда развития казахскоязычных СМИ из Казахстана.

Сегодня, в развивающихся обществах знаний некоторые люди перегружены информацией, другие испытывают информационный голод.

Это неравенство особенно проявляется в сравнении уровня доступа сельсих и городских общин, преодоление возложено на 10 цель устойчивого развития ООН. В этой связи Медийная и информационная грамотность играет и признает основную роль информации и СМИ в развитии и повседневной жизни.


Церемония открытия: Нуржамал Ахметкалиевна Мырзамуратова, Кызылординская областная библиотека им. Тажибаева; Сергей Карпов, ЮНЕСКО, Есенгуль Кап, общественный фонд "Минбер" ©ЮНЕСКО Алматы

Медийная и информационная грамотность находится в основании свободы выражения мнений и информации, помогая гражданам понимать функции СМИ и других поставщиков информации, критически оценивать их содержание и принимать информированные решения в качестве пользователей и производителей информации и медиаконтента.

Учитывая прогресс который был достигнут местными сообществами Кызылординской области, в производстве собственного медийного содержания и распространения информации о жизни аулов, так-же как и предоставления информации жителям своих собственных сообществ получаемой со стороны государственных органов, ЮНЕСКО организовало серию семинаров с целью содействия участию граждан в местном самоуправлении средствами медийной и информационной грамотности.


Упражнение ©ЮНЕСКО Алматы

В последнем семинаре ЮНЕСКО объединит 30 молодых добровольцев и библиотекарей следующих общинных мультимедийных центров: Аккум, Мадениет, Сулутобе, Энбекши, Теменарык, Саксэул, Жаксылылыш, Жанкожа, Жанакорган, Жосалы, Оркендеу, Инкардария, Акжарма, Торетам, III Интернационал и Арал.

Особенность семинара в участии АЙРЕКС Европа подготовившим тренинговые материалы и модули нацеленным на обучение производителей местной информации с применением прагматичного подхода к оценке потоков информации. Партнеры будут работать совместно с фондом Минбер помогающим перевести модули на казахский язык и подключить к обучению собственный богатый контекстный опыт.

До начала семинара, 7-8 ноября 2017 года ЮНЕСКО в Алматы при содействии ПРООН Казахстан организует миссию в аулах расположенных в бассейне реки Сыр-Дарья для изучения потребностей местных общин по медийной и информационной грамотности и институциональным возможностям местных сообществ.

Общинный Мультимедиа Центр "Сулутобе" расположен в Шиелинском районе Кызылординской области ©ЮНЕСКО Алматы


Гульнур Кунторова, ОМЦ Сулутобе; Римма Турманова, ОМЦ "III Интернационал" и волонтеры делают упражнение ©ЮНЕСКО Алматы



Семинар организован при поддержке Кызылординской совместной программы, разработанной Правительством Республики Казахстан, Министерством регионального развития Республики Казахстан, Акиматом Кызылординской области и шестью организациями системы ООН – ПРООН, ЮНИСЕФ, ЮНФПА, ЮНЕСКО, ВОЗ и ООН-Женщины в целях повышения благополучия и качества жизни в Кызылординской области за счет инновационных подходов к оказанию экономических, социальных и экологических услуг местному населению, в частности наиболее уязвимым слоям населения.

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/rural-communities-in-kyzylorda-improve-media-and-information-literacy