Schoolchildren celebrated World Environment Day and World Teachers’ Day in Almaty

6 October 2017

On 6 October 2017 UNESCO Almaty Office and the subregional office of the "UN Environment" organized an event to celebrate World Environment Day and World Teachers' Day in Almaty, Kazakhstan.

There is a need to promote environmental issues among schoolchildren, since they are the backbone for achieving all areas of the sustainable development goals and future environment defenders. Teachers, in turn, are important agents of nature development and conservation, and their role in the education of future generations cannot be overstated.

Schoolchildren at the World Environment Day and World Teachers' Day celebration ©UNESCO Almaty

The event was held in an unusual format: forty schoolchildren of 7-8th grades from UNESCO Associated Schools Project Network (ASPnet) and their teachers gathered in the open area of the summer camp "Mountain sun" in Almaty to celebrate together the World Environment Day and World Teachers' Day.

Representatives of UNESCO Almaty with the members of Youth wing of Kazakhstan MAB National Committee ©UNESCO Almaty

The organizers prepared for the students a short lesson on the topic of environmental protection. In addition, the members of the youth wing of the Kazakhstan National Committee of UNESCO “Man and the Biosphere” programme organized an interactive game to develop among children the sense of respectful attitude towards nature and team-working skills.

The event was organized by UNESCO Almaty Cluster Office and the subregional office of the "UN Environment" for Central Asia, in cooperation with UNESCO ASPnet in Kazakhstan and UNESCO Chair on sustainable development at Al-Farabi Kazakh National University.

Schoolchildren playing the interactive game ©UNESCO Almaty


Interactive game for schoolchildren ©UNESCO Almaty

The World Environment Day was established by the UN General Assembly in 1972 and since then has been celebrated annually on 5 June. This year the theme of the World Environment Day is "Connecting People to Nature". The World Teachers' Day, established by UNESCO in 1994, is celebrated annually on 5 October with the aim to draw attention to the teachers’ status and their role in education and development.

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/schoolchildren-celebrated-world-environment-day-and-world-teachers-day-in-almaty

Всемирный день окружающей среды и День учителя отпраздновали школьники в Алматы

6 Октября 2017

6 октября 2017 года в г. Алматы, Казахстан, под эгидой Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы и субрегионального офиса «ООН-окружающая среда» состоялось мероприятие, посвященное празднованию Всемирного дня окружающей среды и Всемирного дня учителя.

Необходимость сосредоточения внимания учеников на проблемах окружающей среды заключается в том, что именно они являются опорой в развитии всех направлений целей устойчивого развития и будущими защитниками окружающей среды. Учителя, в свою очередь, являются важными проводниками идей развития и охраны природы, и их роль в воспитании будущих поколений невозможно переоценить.

Школьники на праздновании Всемирного дня окружающей среды и Дня учителя ©ЮНЕСКО Алматы

Мероприятие прошло в необычном формате: 40 учеников 7-8 классов из Сети ассоциированных школ ЮНЕСКО и их преподаватели собрались на открытой территории детского лагеря «Горное солнце» в Алматы, чтобы вместе отпраздновать Всемирный день окружающей среды и Всемирный день учителя.

Представители ЮНЕСКО Алматы и члены молодёжного крыла Национального комитета МАБ ©ЮНЕСКО Алматы

Для школьников был организован небольшой урок на свежем воздухе по теме охраны окружающей среды. Кроме того, участники молодёжного крыла Казахстанского национального комитета программы ЮНЕСКО «Человек и Биосфера» подготовили для школьников интерактивную игру для развития у детей чувства бережного отношения к природе, а также навыков работы в команде.

Мероприятие организовано Кластерным Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы и субрегиональным офисом «ООН-окружающая среда» для Центральной Азии, в сотрудничестве с Сетью ассоциированных школ ЮНЕСКО в Казахстане и Кафедрой ЮНЕСКО по устойчивому развитию при Казахстанском национальном университете им. Аль-Фараби.

Школьники во время игры ©ЮНЕСКО Алматы


Празднование Всемирного дня окружающей среды и Дня учителя ©ЮНЕСКО Алматы

Напомним, что Всемирный день охраны окружающей среды был учрежден Генеральной ассамблеей ООН в 1972 году и с тех пор отмечается ежегодно 5 июня. В этом году тема Всемирного дня окружающей среды - «Единение человека с природой». Всемирный день учителя, учреждённый ЮНЕСКО в 1994 году, ежегодно празднуется 5 октября, с целью привлечь внимание к положению учителей в обществе, их роли в образовании и развитии.

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/schoolchildren-celebrated-world-environment-day-and-world-teachers-day-in-almaty