Science, a Human Right: World Science Day for Peace and Development

10 November 2018

From the universe expanding to the phones in our pockets, science is everywhere. Each year, on 10 November, the World Science day for Peace and Development helps us remember this fact and offers an opportunity for everyone to engage in scientific debates and activities.

Since its proclamation by UNESCO in 2001, World Science Day for Peace and Development has generated many concrete projects, programmes and funding for science around the world.

The theme for 2018 is “Science, a Human Right”, in celebration of the 70th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (art. 27), and of the Recommendation on Science and Scientific Researchers. Recalling that everyone has a right to participate in and benefit from science, it will serve to spark a global discussion on ways to improve access to science and to the benefits of science for sustainable development.

By linking science more closely with society, World Science Day for Peace and Development aims to ensure that citizens are kept informed of developments in science. It also underscores the role scientists play in broadening our understanding of the remarkable, fragile planet we call home and in making our societies more sustainable.

Join the conversation with the hashtags #ScienceDay and #RightToScience

Message by the UNESCO Director-General

Related link

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/science-a-human-right-world-science-day-for-peace-and-development

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

Наука – право человека: Всемирный день науки за мир и развитие

10 Ноября 2018

Наука повсюду: от расширяющейся Вселенной до телефонов в наших карманах. Отмечаемый ежегодно 10 ноября Всемирный день науки за мир и развитие помогает нам помнить об этом факте и дает возможность каждому принять участие в научных дискуссиях и мероприятиях.

С момента провозглашения ЮНЕСКО Всемирного дня науки за мир и развитие в 2001 году, было разработано множество конкретных проектов, программ и планов финансирования науки по всему миру.

Тема Дня в 2018 году - «Наука - право человека» - выбрана в честь празднования 70-й годовщины Всеобщей Декларации прав человека (ст. 27) и Рекомендации о статусе научно-исследовательских работников. Данная тема служит напоминанием, что каждый человек имеет право участвовать в научной деятельности и пользоваться её благами. Всемирный день науки за мир и развитие послужит импульсом для глобального обсуждения путей расширения доступа к науке и научным достижениям на благо устойчивого развития.

Тесно связывая науку с обществом, Всемирный день науки за мир и развитие направлен на обеспечение информированности граждан о научных достижениях. Кроме того, этот День подчеркивает роль ученых в расширении нашего понимания замечательной, хрупкой планеты, которую мы называем своим домом, и в устойчивом развитии наших обществ.

Присоединяйтесь к обсуждению по хештегам #ScienceDay и #Right2Science.

Послание Генерального Директора ЮНЕСКО

Ссылка на дополнительную информацию

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/science-a-human-right-world-science-day-for-peace-and-development