Silk Roads heritage to be considered for the inscription to the UNESCO World Heritage List

27 May 2014

Two serial transboundary nominations representing Silk Roads heritage will be considered by the World Heritage Committee as the potential sites for the inscription to the UNESCO World Heritage List at its 38th session in Doha, Qatar, 15-25 June 2014.

Among the 40 objects to be considered during the session, with the following nominations: Silk Roads: the Routes Network of Chang'an-Tianshan Corridor (China, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan), Silk Roads: Penjikent-Samarkand-Poykent Corridor (Tajikistan and Uzbekistan).

Actually, the World Heritage List recognizes 981 properties in 160 States Parties to the 1972 Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage. Central Asia with its unique historical background and numerous cultural and natural heritage sites remains one of the most under-represented regions on the World Heritage List. There are only 13 World Heritage properties located in Central Asian countries.

The World Heritage Committee, responsible for the implementation of the 1972 Convention consists of representatives of 21 countries is elected by the States Parties to the Convention for six years. Since 2013 Republic of Kazakhstan is the only Central Asian country that is the member of the World Heritage Committee.

The World Heritage Committee makes decisions on inscription of the sites to the UNESCOs World Heritage List, attends issues of international assistance, examines reports on the state of conservation of the inscribed sites and, if necessary, asks the Member-States to take appropriate measures for the protection and conservation of the inscribed sites. UNESCOs World Heritage Centre serves as the Secretariat of the World Heritage Convention.

Applications are reviewed by two advisory bodies: Cultural sites by the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) and natural sites by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), which inform the Committee of their recommendations. The International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Conservation of Cultural Heritage (ICCROM) provides expert advice on conservation and training in restoration techniques.

Related link

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/silk-roads-heritage-to-be-considered-for-the-inscription-to-the-unesco-world-heritage-list

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

Наследие Шелкового пути может войти в Список всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО

27 Мая 2014

Две серийные трансграничные номинации, представляющие наследие Шелкового пути будут рассмотрены Комитетом всемирного наследия как потенциальные объекты для включения в Список всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО на 38-й сессии в Дохе, Катаре 15-25 июня 2014 г.

В ходе сессии будут рассмотрены 40 объектов, среди которых следующие номинации: «Шелковый путь: сеть маршрутов Чанань-Тянь-Шанского коридора»(Казахстан, Китай и Кыргызстан), и «Шелковый путь: коридор Пенджикент-Самарканд-Пойкент» (Таджикистан и Узбекистан).

На данный момент, в списке Всемирного наследия находится 981 объектов из 160 стран-участниц Конвенции об охране всемирного культурного и природного наследия. Несмотря на уникальное историческое прошлое и многочисленность объектов выдающегося культурного и природного значения, Центральная Азия входит в число регионов, представленных в Списке всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО в наименьшей степени. Только 13 объектов Всемирного наследия расположены в странах Центральной Азии.

Комитет всемирного наследия, ответственный за осуществление Конвенции 1972 г., состоит из представителей 21 стран, избираемых государствами-участниками Конвенции, сроком до шести лет. Из стран Центральной Азии в Комитете всемирного наследия представлена только Республика Казахстан с 2013 г.

Комитет всемирного наследия принимает решения о включении памятников в списки ЮНЕСКО и занимается вопросами предоставления международной помощи, а также рассматривает доклады о состоянии сохранности включенных объектов, и в случае необходимости, просит государства принимать соответствующие меры по их охране и консервации. Центр всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО является Секретариатом Конвенции об охране всемирного культурного и природного наследия.

Номинации рассматриваются двумя консультативными органами: Культурные объекты - Международным советом по охране памятников и объектов (ИКОМОС) и природные объекты - Международным союзом по охраны природы (МСОП), которые информируют Комитет о своих рекомендациях. Международный центр по изучению вопросов сохранения и консервации культурного наследия (ИККРОМ) предоставляет консультации экспертов по вопросам консервации и тренинги по технике реставрации.

Ссылка на дополнительную информацию

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/silk-roads-heritage-to-be-considered-for-the-inscription-to-the-unesco-world-heritage-list