The way to end gender bias in media

17 December 2014

The Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union (ABU) in cooperation with UNESCO Almaty in the Framework of the International Programme for the Development of the Communications (IPDC) project "Gender Mainstreaming in Broadcasting Organisations in the Asia-Pacific Region" has held 12 workshops and trained 328 people, including media, government organisations, academia and NGOs.

The two years of 12 training activities conducted from June 2013 to November 2014 have helped media workers from Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, India, Maldives, Malaysia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam tackle gender inequality and discrimination against women. This project proved to be extremely popular and all consultants voiced their recommendations for follow-up workshops with the same organisations.

The Global Alliance on Media and Gender was another strong step forward in the campaign to end inequalities in the media, in both the employment of women and the way women and girls are portrayed.

Dr Javad Mottaghi, Secretary-General, Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union (ABU)

Activities strengthened institutional capacities and built awareness in the application of UNESCO gender mainstreaming instruments, for transparency and dialogue between management and staff.

The workshop programs were accessible to rural women including female youth community media reporters from Kyrgyzstan.

The ABU itself took a giant step forward at their 2013 General Assembly in Vietnam by passing the Hanoi Declaration, a pledge to guide us through the years ahead.

Hanoi Declaration

Delegates at the Hanoi General Assembly issued an official call for greater action to achieve gender equality in the media and to include people with disabilities.

Members attending the forum “Women With the Wave” on 23 October 2013 and the ABU/ITU forum on 24 October 2013, issued a Hanoi Declaration calling on governments, broadcasters and others in the media to work to end bias against women, girls and people with disabilities in and through the media.

The Hanoi Declaration built on the work of the first Women With the Wave forum held in Seoul, Korea, in October 2012.

Practical Steps to Gender Diversity


The Gender Mainstreaming Workshop community media participants in Kyrgyzstan ©UNESCO Almaty

At a very practical level, the ABU is helping eight member broadcasters develop and implement gender diversity plans for their organisations. The beneficiaries are: Doordarshan India, the Maldives Broadcasting Commission, RTM-Malaysia, HUM TV of Pakistan, Thai PBS, Voice of Vietnam, Kyrgyz Public Broadcasting.

UNESCO Global Forum on Media and Gender

The "Gender Mainstreaming in Broadcasting Organisations in the Asia-Pacific Region" project has been contributed to the Global Alliance on Media and Gender, which was formally launched in Bangkok on 4 December 2013, as the culmination of a UNESCO Global Forum on Media and Gender.

The alliance was another strong step forward in the campaign to end inequalities in the media, in both the employment of women and the way women and girls are portrayed - said Dr Javad Mottaghi, ABU Secretary-General

The project applied set of the reading materials including Gender-sensitive indicators for media: framework of indicators to gauge gender sensitivity in media operations and content

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/the-way-to-end-gender-bias-in-media

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

Пути преодоления гендерных предрассудков в средствах информации

17 Декабря 2014

Азиатско-Тихоокеанский вещательный союз (ABU) в сотрудничестве с Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы в рамках Международной Программы Развития Коммуникаций (МПРК) завершил проекта "Продвижение гендерной проблематики в телерадиовещательных организациях Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона". ABU провел 12 семинаров и обучил 328 человек, включая сотрудников средств массовой информации, государственных учреждений, научных кругов и неправительственных организаций.

В течении двух лет с июня 2013 года по ноябрь 2014 года 12 курсов повышения квалификации ABU помогли сотрудникам СМИ Кыргызстана, Казахстана, Индии, Мальдивских Островов, Малайзии, Пакистана, Шри-Ланки, Таиланда и Вьетнама в преодолении проблем гендерного неравенства и дискриминации в отношении женщин. Этот проект оказался чрезвычайно популярным, все консультанты высказали свои рекомендации для последующих мероприятий, основываясь на предложениях участников.

Глобальный альянс "Гендер и СМИ" стал еще одним сильным шагом вперед в кампании по искоренению неравенства в средствах массовой информации, по двум направлениям: трудоустройству женщин и способам изображения женщин и девочек.

Д-р Джавад Моттаги, Генеральный секретарь Азиатско-Тихоокеанского вещательного союза (ABU).

Мероприятия укрепили институциональный потенциал телерадиовещателей и повысили практику применения гендерных показателей ЮНЕСКО и повлияли на обеспечение прозрачности и диалога между руководством и персоналом.

Программы семинаров были доступны и для сельских женщин, включая девушек и молодых женщин корреспондентов общинных СМИ из Кыргызстана.

Сам Азиатский Вещательный Союз сделал гигантский шаг вперед в течении своей Генеральной Ассамблеи 2013 года во Вьетнаме, приняв Ханойскую декларацию, с обязательством активных действий в будущем.

Ханойская декларация

Делегаты Генеральной Ассамблеи в Ханое выпустили официальный призыв к более активным действиям по достижению гендерного равенства в СМИ включая интересы людей с ограниченными возможностями.

Участники форумов "Женщины на волне" 23-24 октября 2013 года призвали правительства, вещательные компании и другие средства массовой информации, чтобы бороться с предубеждениями против женщин, девочек и людей, с ограниченными возможностями в средствах массовой информации.

Ханойская Декларация выстроена на предложениях делегатов первого форума "Женщины на волне" прошедшего в Сеуле, Корея, в октябре 2012 года.

Практические шаги по гендерному разнообразию


Представители общинных СМИ Кыргызстана на семинаре ABU/IPDC ©ЮНЕСКО в Алматы

ABU помог восьми вещателям-членам организации разработать и осуществить планы гендерного разнообразия. Бенефициары: Общесвенный вещатель Дурдаршан из Индии, Комиссия по телерадиовещанию Мальдивских островов, РТМ-Малайзия, ТВ Пакистана, Общественное вещание Тайланда, Голос Вьетнама, Кыргызская телерадиовещательная корпорация и Государственная телерадиовещательная корпорация Казахстан.

Глобальный форум ЮНЕСКО "Гендер и СМИ"

Проект "Продвижение гендерной проблематики в телерадиовещательных организациях Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона". внес вклад в Глобальный альянс "Гендер и СМИ", который был официально объявлен в Бангкоке 4 декабря 2013 года, в кульминационный момент на одноименном Глобальном форуме ЮНЕСКО.

Альянс стал еще одним сильным шагом вперед в кампании по искоренению неравенства в средствах массовой информации, по двум направлениям: трудоустройству женщин и способам изображения женщин и девочек, - сказал Д-р Джавад Моттаги, Генеральный секретарь ABU.

Проект использовал комплекс материалов включая публикацию ЮНЕСКО Гендерно-чувствительные индикаторы для СМИ: система показателей для оценки гендерной проблематики в деятельности и содержании средств массовой информации

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/the-way-to-end-gender-bias-in-media