UNESCO facilitates the promotion of the concept of UNESCO Global Geoparks in Uzbekistan

22 October 2020

On 25 September 2020, a consultative meeting was held between the UNESCO Office in Almaty and representatives of state committees of Uzbekistan for geology, ecology and tourism, as well as academia and regional administration, on the establishment of an aspiring UNESCO Global Geopark in Uzbekistan.

The meeting was attended by representatives of the State Committee of Uzbekistan for Geology and Mineral Resources, the Committee for Ecology and Environmental Protection, the Committee for Tourism Development, Kitab Geological National Park, Kashkardaya regions administration, the Institute of Hydrogeology and Engineering Geology, as well as the Institute of Geology and Mineral Resources.

The meeting took place at the occasion of the release of a decree by the Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Uzbekistan on the establishment of the Kitab Geological National Park, created at the basis of the Kitab State Geological Reserve. The decree includes a roadmap of activities, which was proposed following a national workshop on UNESCO Global Geoparks, that took place in Tashkent in November 2019, supported by UNESCO Office in Almaty.

The participants discussed the recommendations made by UNESCO in November last year, the Uzbek authorities briefed on the progress achieved and discussed the next steps on geopark establishment, which will be primarily the identification of its territory, establishment of an inter-sectorial working group, involvement of local administration, assessment of geological heritage, mapping of geo-sites and other.

UNESCO Global Geoparks are single, unified geographical areas where sites and landscapes of international geological significance are managed with a holistic concept of protection, education and sustainable development. UNESCO Global Geoparks aim to stimulate the creation of innovative local enterprises, new jobs and researches as new sources of revenue are generated through geotourism, while the geological resources of the area are protected. During the past year, the programme has attracted an interest of Central Asian stakeholders, including for tourism development purposes.

sustainable-science
Building+Capacity+in+Science

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/unesco-facilitates-the-promotion-of-the-concept-of-unesco-global-geoparks-in-uzbekistan

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

ЮНЕСКО способствует продвижению концепции Глобальных геопарков ЮНЕСКО в Узбекистане

22 Октября 2020

25 сентября 2020 года состоялась консультативная встреча между Кластерным Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы и представителями государственных комитетов Узбекистана по геологии, экологии и туризму, а также академических кругов и региональных администраций по вопросу перспективы создания Глобального геопарка ЮНЕСКО в Узбекистане.

Во встрече приняли участие представители Государственного комитета Узбекистана по геологии и минеральным ресурсам, Комитета экологии и охране окружающей среды, Комитета по развитию туризма, Китабского геологического национального парка, администрации Кашкадарьинской области, Института гидрогеологии и инженерной геологии, а также Института геологии и минеральных ресурсов.

Встреча состоялась по случаю постановления Кабинета Министров Республики Узбекистан о создании Китабского геологического национального парка, созданного на базе Китабского государственного геологического заповедника. Указ включает дорожную карту мероприятий, которая была предложена по итогам национального семинара по Глобальным геопаркам ЮНЕСКО, прошедшего в Ташкенте в ноябре 2019 года при поддержке Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы.

Участники обсудили рекомендации, сделанные ЮНЕСКО в ноябре прошлого года, власти Узбекистана проинформировали о достигнутом прогрессе и обсудили следующие шаги по созданию геопарка, которыми будут, в первую очередь: определение его территории, создание межотраслевой рабочей группы, участие местной администрации, оценка геологического наследия, картографирование геообъектов.

Глобальные геопарки ЮНЕСКО - это территории, объекты и ландшафты международного геологического значения, которые управляются с использованием целостной концепции защиты, образования и устойчивого развития. Глобальные геопарки ЮНЕСКО нацелены на стимулирование создания инновационных местных предприятий, новых рабочих мест и исследований, поскольку новые источники дохода создаются за счет геотуризма, в то время как геологические ресурсы района находятся под защитой. В прошлом году программа вызвала интерес у заинтересованных сторон Центральной Азии, в том числе в целях развития туризма.

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/unesco-facilitates-the-promotion-of-the-concept-of-unesco-global-geoparks-in-uzbekistan