UNESCO holds a sub-regional workshop on Serial World Heritage Nomination for Central Asian Petroglyph sites, 26- 31 of May 2008 in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan

22 May 2008

This workshop will bring together the relevant authorities of each State Party in the nomination plan (Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan), as well as international experts from UNESCO and ICOMOS.

The workshop will discuss the challenges and opportunities for a possible World Heritage serial nomination on Central Asian Petroglyphs, as well as develop a common nomination strategy.

It will aim to create a basic dialogue and to provide guidance and advice for the identification, assessment and evaluation of potential sites. The workshop also will review the state of conservation of the potential sites for World Heritage nomination.

The workshop is, therefore, the first milestone of this initiative.

Central Asia is unusually rich in the archaeological heritage of petroglyphs dating from as early as the 4th millennium before our era, possibly even earlier, and continuing to the Iron and Middle Ages.

The Tentative World Heritage Lists of the Central Asian Republics include famous petroglyph sites in each country, such as Arpauzen, Eshkiolmes in Kazakhstan; Saimaly-Tash, Cholpon-Ata in Kyrgyzstan and Sarmishsay, Siypantosh, Zarautsoy in Uzbekistan. However, to date only Tamgaly has been nominated and has been inscribed in the list in 2004.

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/unesco-holds-a-sub-regional-workshop-on-serial-world-heritage-nomination-for-central

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

ЮНЕСКО организует Субрегиональный семинар «Петроглифы Центральной Азии – серийная номинация в Список Всемирного наследия», 26 – 31 мая 2008 г. в г. Бишкек, Кыргызстан

22 Мая 2008

В работе семинара примут участие специалисты и представители уполномоченных органов Казахстана, Кыргызстана, Таджикистана, Туркменистана и Узбекистана, а также международные эксперты ЮНЕСКО и ИКОМОС.

На семинаре будут обсуждаться проблемы и перспективы внесения серийной номинации «Петроглифы Центральной Азии» в Список Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО. Также планируется разработать общую номинационную стратегию.

Целью семинара является содействие диалогу между странами, предоставление руководства для оценки и определения потенциальных объектов по подготовке номинаций в Список Всемирного наследия. На семинаре будет рассмотрен уровень сохранности потенциальных объектов серийной номинации.

Таким образом, семинар станет первым краеугольным камнем для этой уникальной и динамичной инициативы.

Центральная Азия необыкновенно богата таким видом археологического наследия, как петроглифы, датируемых от IV тыс. до н.э., а, возможно и более древними эпохами, вплоть до раннего железного века и средневековья.

Среди объектов, внесенных в Предварительный список Всемирного наследия от стран Центральной Азии, есть известные местонахождения петроглифов: Арпаузен, Ешкиольмес в Казахстане, Саймалуу-Таш, Чолпон-Ата в Кыргызстане, Сармишсай, Сийпанташ и Зараутсай в Узбекистане. Однако, в настоящее время только петроглифы Тамгалы были номинированы в Список Всемирного наследия и внесены в него 2004 году.

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/unesco-holds-a-sub-regional-workshop-on-serial-world-heritage-nomination-for-central