UNESCO Meeting Discussed Conventions on Cultural Heritage in Central Asia

30 January 2007

The UNESCO Almaty Cluster Office organized, in cooperation with the Tajik National Commission for UNESCO, a Sub-Regional Meeting for the Promotion and Implementation of Conventions for the Safeguarding of Cultural Heritage in Central Asia in Dushanbe on 19 and 20 January 2007.

The meeting participants discussed measures to promote the ratification and implementation of various conventions that aim to protect cultural heritage, as well as possible solutions to increase the regional cooperation among the police, customs and judiciary institutions in Central Asia.

“We hope that this meeting will make a significant contribution to the development of an integrated approach to the implementation of conventions for the safeguarding of cultural heritage in Central Asia, being tangible, intangible, moveable and immovable”, says Francois Langlois, of UNESCO Almaty Culture Unit.

Besides the various international conventions, the participants also discussed the use of practical tools that UNESCO elaborated to assist countries in safeguarding their heritage, such as the UNESCO/World Customs Organization Model for Export Certificate, the UNESCO Database which compiles the national legislations in force for the protection of cultural heritage, and Object ID, an international standard for describing art and antiquities.

“With the ever-increasing phenomenon of illicit trafficking of cultural property worldwide, it is imperative for Central Asian States to take all possible measures to fight against this growing concern”, says Ms Munzifa Babadjanova, Secretary-General of the Tajik National Commission for UNESCO.

Due to the heavy snowfall and the closing of the Dushanbe airport, the Kyrgyz delegation could unfortunately not join the meeting. However, representatives and experts in the legal protection of cultural heritage from Kazakhstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan arrived on time to participate and made substantial contributions to the debates and the positive results of this meeting.

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/unesco-meeting-discussed-conventions-on-cultural-heritage-in-central-asia

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

На встрече ЮНЕСКО обсуждались конвенции по Культурному Наследию в Центральной Азии

30 Января 2007

Кластерное бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы в сотрудничестве с Национальной комиссией по делам ЮНЕСКО в Таджикистане организовали Субрегиональную встречу по выполнению конвенций по сохранению культурного наследия в Центральной Азии, которая состоялась в г. Душанбе 19-20 января 2007 г.

Участники встречи обсудили меры способствующие ратификации и выполнению конвенций, призванных охранять культурное наследие, а также возможные меры для увеличения регионального сотрудничества между таможенными, законодательными и правоохранительными учреждениями в Центральной Азии.

«Мы надеемся, что эта встреча принесет огромный вклад в развитие интегрированного подхода к выполнению конвенций по сохранению культурного наследия в Центральной Азии, как материального и нематериального, так и движимого и недвижимого», сказал Франсуа Ланглуа, представитель Сектора культуры ЮНЕСКО Алматы.

Помимо различных международных конвенций, участники обсудили вопросы о применении практических инструментов, разработанных ЮНЕСКО для содействия странам в сохранении их культурного наследия, такие как Модель экспортных сертификатов ЮНЕСКО и Всемирной таможенной организации, База данных ЮНЕСКО по национальным законодательствам в сфере охраны культурного наследия, международный стандарт для описания предметов искусства и антикварных ценностей (Object ID).

«По мере увеличивающегося феномена незаконной перевозки культурных ценностей по всему миру, странам Центральной Азии необходимо принимать все возможные меры по борьбе с этим возрастающим явлением», говорит г-жа Мунзифа Бабаджанова, Генеральный секретарь Национальной комиссии по делам ЮНЕСКО в Таджикистане.

По причине обильного снегопада и закрытия в связи с этим аэропорта Душанбе, делегация из Кыргызстана, к сожалению, не смогла принять участие во встрече. Однако, представители и эксперты по охране культурного наследия из Казахстана, Таджикистана и Узбекистана смогли принять активное участие в дебатах и внесли свой позитивный вклад в результаты Субрегиональной встречи ЮНЕСКО по выполнению конвенций по сохранению культурного наследия в Центральной Азии.

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/unesco-meeting-discussed-conventions-on-cultural-heritage-in-central-asia