UNESCO promotes tourism development in Zhambyl region

26 March 2019

On 27 February 2019, the UNESCO Almaty Office organized a seminar in Taraz, Kazakhstan, to raise awareness of UNESCO-designated sites in Zhambyl region.

During the meeting, representatives of tourism, culture and education departments of the Akimat of Zhambyl region, managers of UNESCO-designated sites and representatives of local tourism-related organizations and NGOs learnt about Kazakhstan's international commitments related to the conservation and management of UNESCO World Heritage Sites and biosphere reserves, as well as the opportunities these sites offer for local development, including through the promotion of tourism. Five components of a transboundary cultural site (Chang’an-Tianshan Corridor), as well as part of a transnational natural heritage site (Western Tien-Shan) are located in Zhambyl region.

The discussion during the meeting helped to identify the main challenges and opportunities for tourism development at UNESCO-designated sites in Zhambyl region. Among the main problems identified by the participants, the lack of protection and identification signs at UNESCO sites, the lack of basic infrastructure, including roads, water and toilets, as well as absence of information materials and lack of knowledge were underlined.

At the same time, the participants emphasized the importance of regular capacity building activities for museum staff, tour guides and local administration on the issue of protection and conservation of cultural and natural heritage, as well as development of promotional materials, including those for TV and social media.

The event was organized in the framework of the UNESCO project “Promoting sustainable development in Kazakhstan through UNESCO-designated sites” supported by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan and implemented in five regions of Kazakhstan. For further information about the project, please contact Ms Natalia Kim, UNESCO Almaty (email: n.kim@unesco.org; tel: +7 727 258 26 43, ext. 1420).

sustainable-science
biodiversity+geology+ecosystems
protecting-heritage

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/unesco-promotes-tourism-development-in-zhambyl-region

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

ЮНЕСКО поддерживает развитие туризма в Жамбылской области

26 Марта 2019

27 февраля 2019 года Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы провело в г. Тараз, Казахстан, обучающий семинар по повышению осведомленности об объектах ЮНЕСКО в Жамбылской области.

Во время встречи представители управлений туризма, культуры и образования Жамбылской области, руководители объектов ЮНЕСКО, представители местных туристских организаций и НПО узнали о международных обязательствах Казахстана по сохранению объектов Всемирного наследия и биосферных резерватов ЮНЕСКО и их управлению, а также о возможностях, которые эти объекты представляют для местного развития, в том числе через развитие туризма. Напоминаем, что в Жамбылской области находятся пять компонентов трансграничного объекта культурного наследия (Чанъань-Тянь-Шанского коридора) и часть трансграничного природного объекта (Западный Тянь-Шань).

Обсуждение в ходе встречи помогло определить основные вызовы и возможности для развития туризма на объектах ЮНЕСКО в Жамбылской области. Среди основных проблем – отсутствие охраны и идентификационных знаков на объектах, недостаток базовой инфраструктуры, включая дороги, воду и туалеты, а также нехватка информационных материалов и знаний.

В то же время участники подчеркнули важность проведения регулярных обучающих мероприятий для сотрудников музеев, туристических гидов и местной администрации по вопросам охраны и сохранения культурного и природного наследия, а также необходимость разработки информационных материалов, в том числе для телевидения и социальных сетей.

Мероприятие было организовано в рамках проекта ЮНЕСКО «Содействие устойчивому развитию в Республике Казахстан через объекты ЮНЕСКО», который реализуется при поддержке Министерства иностранных дел Республики Казахстан в пяти регионах страны. Для получения дополнительной информации о проекте просьба обращаться к г-же Наталье Ким, ЮНЕСКО Алматы (email: n.kim@unesco.org; тел.: +7 727 258 26 43, вн. 1420).

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/unesco-promotes-tourism-development-in-zhambyl-region