#WomenRendezvous: A Success Story of Cooperation with Media to Shed Light on the Achievement of Women in Response to COVID-19 Pandemic

24 June 2020

As part of the responses to the COVID-19, the UNESCO Almaty Cluster Office in partnership with TheOpenAsia.net media portal launched a #WomenRendezvous online campaign in Central Asia to take a look at female’s role in the fight against COVID-19.

Women and girls make essential contributions as frontline responders, especially during emergencies like the COVID-19 pandemic. One of the recognized social roles of female is main caregivers in their homes and communities. However, in this time of crisis, they bear more brunt of disproportionate care burdens, and interruptions in income and education. The sudden outbreak of the COVID-19 is exacerbating this pre-existing inequalities, exposing vulnerabilities in social, political and economic systems. In this regard, UN organizations and most member states are taking action to tackle the specific impact of this pandemic on women’s and girls’ rights.

As part of the responses to the COVID-19, the UNESCO Almaty Cluster Office in partnership with TheOpenAsia.net media portal launched a #WomenRendezvous online campaign in Central Asia to take a look at female’s role in the fight against COVID-19, which attracted around 300 000 people. With the support of several women and girls who are leading and participating the battle against the negative consequences of crisis, we share their stores and perspectives.

Komilova Munavvar Boyboboevna: "If we fight together, we will defeat this disease".

Dr.Komilova (third person from the left) ©UNESCO Almaty

Dr.Komilova is a front-line family doctor with 30 years of experience and worked as a primary care physician at Leilek FMC in Isfana. Dr. Komilova said that health workers have a high risk of contracting the disease every day, but they get great comfort from helping people overcome the disease, and their efforts are appreciated by the entire society. She is both a doctor, wife and mother, and she has unconditional support from her family to help balance work and family. She believes that “to be successful, a person must understand the degree of responsibility for their relationship with family, her husband, children, relatives and work”.

Kristine Tovmasyan: "The pandemic brought people and entire countries closer together".

Kristine Tovmasyan ©UNESCO Almaty

Mrs. Tovmasyan is an international specialist in Natural Sciences at the UNESCO Almaty Office, and the mother of three children. Since the outbreak of the pandemic, she has been working with the UNESCO team to promote the exchange of scientific data and technical information through dialogue and platform creation. She mentioned: "In the recovery phase, we will focus on strengthening the resilience of the people and living in harmony with nature in order to overcome possible future crises." Regarding the time of quarantine at home with her family, Mrs. Tovmasyan mentioned that it is very important to spend quality time with family members, and maintain a positive attitude and optimistic mind in this uncertain situation.

Aisulu Yerniyazova: "COVID-19 revealed many problems, especially related to the gender issues".

Aisulu Yerniyazova ©UNESCO Almaty

Aisulu Yerniyazova is the chairman of the “League of Volunteers of Kazakhstan”, member of the Youth Policy Council under the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan, also a member of the Republican Political Council of the Nur Otan Party. She emphasized that the pandemic restricts communication, but has introduced voluntary services to make people realize that communication can be achieved through online platforms and mutual assistance. However, she is concerned that the quarantine also exposes some potential social problems, such as domestic violence against young women and girls, which should attract more attention.

Adel Orazalinova: "Quarantine - is a time to do something good".

Adel Orazalinova(person in the bottom middle) ©UNESCO Almaty

Adel is a TV presenter, volunteer and civic activist. As a volunteer, she has to solve difficult logistics problems complicated by the quarantine regime. As a mother and wife, she set a specific daily routine and distributed responsibilities among family members in order to maintain communication and manage time effectively. As a leader in her company, she is trying to take a huge responsibility to ensure employee’s safety and well-being. Working on balancing her career and family, Adel said “people should stay calm, do good and monitor their health. Without illness, people contribute to the victory over the pandemic, as they stay at home and do not increase the amount of work for themselves, and for doctors.”

Alyona Alfyorova: "No youth should be left behind".

Alyona Alfyorova ©UNESCO Almaty

Alyona Alfyorova is a senior lecturer in the School of Entrepreneurship and Innovation at Almaty Management University. Since implementing distance learning, she has held workshops with qualified speakers from various fields so that “young people will not lose knowledge and miss more opportunities than before the pandemic”. In addition to her passion to youth education, Alyona has also been devoting to perform her role as wife, mother and caregiver, make sure a sustainable development and a quality life in the family during this crisis.

***

Women are the pioneers of nation, the varieties role of women assume in the society are those of wife, mother, employer, and employee. However, for the first time in modern history, three of major institutions-work, school and family life are all happening in one physical place: our home.

The sudden shift due to the COVID-19 has a greater effect on women than men, as they may experience conflict between the demands of work and the demands of family. Therefore, in order to drive a better outcomes for all, it is important to support female in all aspects to place us back a footing to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/womenrendezvous-a-success-story-of-cooperation-with-media-to-shed-light-on-the

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

#WomenRendezvous: история успешного сотрудничества с медиа для повышения осведомленности о достижениях женщин в ответных мерах на пандемию COVID-19

24 Июня 2020

В рамках ответных мер на COVID-19, Кластерное бюро ЮНЕСКО в партнерстве с медийным порталом TheOpenAsia.net запустило онлайн-кампанию #WomenRendezvous в Центральной Азии, чтобы взглянуть на роль женщин в борьбе с COVID-19.

Женщины и девочки вносят существенный вклад в качестве ответных мер, особенно во время чрезвычайных ситуаций, таких как пандемия COVID-19. Одна из общепризнанных социальных ролей женщин - это выполнение домашных дел и уход за членами семьи в их домах и обществах. Однако, в это кризисное время они несут еще большую тяжесть непропорционального бремени по уходу за семьями и перерывов в доходах и образовании. Внезапная вспышка COVID-19 усугубляет существовавшее ранее неравенство, обнажая уязвимости в социальной, политической и экономической системах. В связи с этим агентсва ООН и большинство государств-членов предпринимают действия для устранения негативного воздействия этой пандемии на права женщин и девочек.

В рамках ответных мер на кризис COVID-19 Кластерное бюро ЮНЕСКО в партнерстве с медиа-порталом TheOpenAsia.net запустило онлайн-кампанию #WomenRendezvous в Центральной Азии, чтобы взглянуть на роль женщин в борьбе с COVID-19, которая привлекла внимание около 300 000 человек. Поддерживая нескольких женщин и девушек, которые возглавляют и участвуют в борьбе с негативными последствиями кризиса, мы делимся их историями и достижениями с вами.

Комилова Мунаввар Бойбобоевна: «Если мы будем сражаться вместе, мы победим эту болезнь».

Доктор Комилова (третья слева) ©ЮНЕСКО Алматы

Доктор Комилова является передовым семейным врачом с 30-летним опытом работы и работала врачом первичной медицинской помощи в Лейлек ФМЦ в Исфане. Доктор Комилова сказала, что работники здравоохранения имеют высокий риск заражения этой болезнью каждый день, но они получают большое утешение, помогая людям преодолеть болезнь, и их усилия ценятся всем обществом. Она и врач, и жена, и мать, и у нее есть безусловная поддержка со стороны ее семьи, чтобы помочь сбалансировать работу и семью. Она считает, что «чтобы быть успешным, человек должен понимать степень ответственности за свои отношения с семьей, своим мужем, детьми, родственниками и работой».

Кристинэ Товмасян: «Пандемия сблизила людей и целые страны».

Кристинэ Товмасян ©ЮНЕСКО Алматы

Г-жа Товмасян является международным специалистом по естественным наукам в Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы и матерью троих детей. После начала пандемии она сотрудничает с группой ЮНЕСКО по содействию обмену научными данными и технической информацией посредством диалога и создания платформ. Она упомянула: «На этапе восстановления мы сосредоточимся на укреплении жизнестойкости людей в гармонии с природой, чтобы преодолеть возможные будущие кризисы». Говоря о времени карантина дома со своей семьей, г-жа Товмасян отметила, что очень важно проводить качественное время с членами семьи и сохранять позитивный настрой в этой неопределенной ситуации.

Айсулу Ерниязова: «COVID-19 выявил много проблем, особенно связанных с гендерными вопросами».

Айсулу Ерниязова ©ЮНЕСКО Алматы

Айсулу Ерниязова является председателем «Лиги волонтеров Казахстана», членом Совета по молодежной политике при Президенте Республики Казахстан, а также членом Республиканского политического совета партии «Нур Отан». Она подчеркнула, что несмотря на то, что пандемия ограничивает общение, добровольные инциативы позволили людям озознать, что общение может быть достигнуто с помощью онлайн-платформ и взаимопомощи. Однако она обеспокоена тем, что карантин также обнажает некоторые потенциальные социальные проблемы, такие как бытовое насилие в отношении молодых женщин и девочек, которое должно привлекать больше внимания со стороны общества и государственных структур.

Адель Оразалинова: «Карантин - время делать добро».

Адель Оразалинова(в нижней средней части) ©ЮНЕСКО Алматы

Адель - телеведущая, волонтер и общественный деятель. Как волонтер, она должна решать сложные логистические проблемы, осложненные режимом карантина. Будучи матерью и женой, она установила определенный распорядок дня и распределила обязанности между членами семьи, чтобы поддерживать связь и эффективно управлять временем. Являясь лидером в своей компании, она пытается взять на себя огромную ответственность за обеспечение безопасности и благополучия сотрудников. Работая над балансом своей карьеры и семьи, Адель сказала: «Люди должны сохранять спокойствие, делать добро и следить за своим здоровьем. Люди без симптомов вируса способствуют победе над пандемией сохраняя все меры предосторожности, так как не увеличивают объем работы для себя и для врачей».

Алена Алферова: «Молодежь не должна остаться в стороне».

Алена Алферова ©ЮНЕСКО Алматы

Алена Алферова - преподаватель школы предпринимательства и инноваций в Almaty Management University. После внедрения дистанционного обучения она провела семинары с квалифицированными докладчиками из разных областей, чтобы «молодые люди не потеряли знания и не упустили больше возможностей, чем до пандемии». В дополнение к своей страсти к образованию молодежи, Алена также посвятила себя роли жены, матери и воспитателя, чтобы обеспечить устойчивое развитие и качественную жизнь в семье во время этого кризиса.

***

Женщины являются пионерами нации, роль женщин в обществе варьируется в зависимости от роли жены, матери, работодателя и работника. Тем не менее, впервые в современной истории три основных института: работа, школа и семейная жизнь - все происходит в одном физическом месте: в нашем доме.

Внезапные изменения из-за COVID-19 оказывает большее влияние на женщин, чем на мужчин, так как они могут столкнуться с конфликтом между требованиями работы и требованиями семьи. Поэтому, чтобы добиться лучших результатов для всех, важно поддерживать женщин во всех аспектах, чтобы продвинуть нас на пути достижения Целей в области устойчивого развития (ЦУР).

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/womenrendezvous-a-success-story-of-cooperation-with-media-to-shed-light-on-the