World Press Freedom Day 2007 website now online

9 February 2007

UNESCO launches a website dedicated to the World Press Freedom Day to be celebrated in Medellin, Colombia on 3 May. The website provides regular news services, practical information, more detail on the conference, speakers and participants.

This years event consists of a two-day conference on the theme "Press Freedom, Safety of Journalists and Impunity" and the award of the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2007.

This year we celebrate the 10th anniversary of the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano Press Freedom Prize. The choice of Guillermo Canos homeland for this years ceremony is particularly appropriate considering the themes of journalist safety and impunity. Guillermo Cano Isaza was assassinated on December 17, 1986 in Bogota for his fearless denouncement of drug trafficking mafias. The fact that his murderers have not been brought to justice is an unfortunate reflection of todays reality.

Around 150 participants, representing media institutions, NGOs, government, universities and other organizations are expected to attend this event. Media specialists and participants will discuss the strong link between press freedom and the safety of journalists during the two-day conference on 3-4 May 2007. On the recommendation of an independent jury, the World Press Freedom Prize will be awarded to this years chosen laureate at the ceremony on 3 May 2007.

Related link

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/world-press-freedom-day-2007-website-now-online

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

Вебсайт, посвященный Всемирному Дню Свободы Прессы, - в работе

9 февраля 2007

ЮНЕСКО запустил вебсайт, посвященный Всемирному Дню Свободы Прессы, который будет отмечаться в Меделине, Колумбия, 3 мая. Вебсайт предоставляет регулярные новостные услуги, практическую информацию, а также множество услуг для конференций, докладчиков и участников.

В этом году событие будет отмечено двухдневной коференцией на тему "Свобода Прессы, безопасность журналистов и безнаказанность" и награждением Премией Всемирной Свободы Прессы имени Гилермо Кано 2007 года, учрежденной ЮНЕСКО.

В этом году мы празднуем десятилетнюю годовщину этой премии. Выбор Родины Гилермо Кано для этой ежегодной церемонии является особенно подходящим для рассмотрения темы безопасности и безнаказанности журналиста. Гилермо Кано был убит 17 декабря 1986 года в Боготе вследствии его бесстрашного разоблачения мафии по торговле наркотиками. То, что его убийцы не ответили перед законом, является печальным отображением сегодняшней действительности.

Ожидается, что около 150 участников, представляющих медиа институты, правительственные и неправительственные организации, университеты и другие организации, посетят данное мероприятие. В течение двухдневной конференции 3-4 мая специалисты средств массовой информации и участники будут обсуждать вопросы прочной связи между свободой прессы и безопасностью журналистов. Премия Всемирной Свободы Прессы 2007 года будет вручена лауреату, избранному по решению независимого жюри, на церемонии 3 мая.

Ссылка на дополнительную информацию

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/world-press-freedom-day-2007-website-now-online