World Science Day for Peace and Development: Open science, leaving no one behind

11 November 2019

Celebrated every 10 November, World Science Day for Peace and Development highlights the important role of science in society and the need to engage the wider public in debates on emerging scientific issues. It also underlines the importance and relevance of science in our daily lives.

By linking science more closely with society, World Science Day for Peace and Development aims to ensure that citizens are kept informed of developments in science. It also underscores the role scientists play in broadening our understanding of the remarkable, fragile planet we call home and in making our societies more sustainable.

In 2019, the Day will be devoted to the theme of Open Science - a burning issue in the scientific community, which is gaining increasing attention by the non-scientific community as well. Open Science is not only an issue of science being open to the research community, as in "open access" and "open data", but refers to a science open to society.


In spite of the progress made in recent years, we are still witnessing great disparities across and within different regions and different countries when it comes to accessing science, technology and innovation (STI) and enjoying their benefits. To address these disparities and close the existing STI gaps, Open Science is an important step in the right direction.

Open communication of the scientific data, results, hypotheses and opinions, lie at the very heart of scientific process. In this context, Open Science is the growing global movement to make scientific research and data accessible to all.

Open Science has the potential to significantly increase scientific collaboration and discovery and to facilitate adoption of the well]adapted technologies. It can be a game changer for achieving the Sustainable Development Goals, particularly in Africa, developing countries, and Small Island Developing States (SIDS).

Let us embrace open science as a tool for making science more accessible, scientific process more inclusive and the outputs of science more readily available for all!

Join the conversation with the hashtags #ScienceDay and #OpenScience.

sustainable science
Building+Capacity+in+Science
climate+change
disaster
water
biodiversity+geology+ecosystems

Related link

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/world-science-day-for-peace-and-development-open-science-leaving-no-one-behind

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

Всемирный день науки за мир и развитие. Открытая наука: не оставляя никого позади.

11 Ноября 2019

Всемирный День науки за мир и развитие, отмечаемый ежегодно 10 ноября, подчеркивает важную роль науки в обществе и необходимость привлечения широкой общественности к обсуждению возникающих научных вопросов. Этот день также подчеркивает важность и актуальность науки в нашей повседневной жизни.

Тесно связывая науку с обществом, Всемирный День науки за мир и развитие направлен на обеспечение информированности граждан о научных достижениях. Кроме того, этот День подчеркивает роль ученых в расширении нашего понимания замечательной и хрупкой планеты, которую мы называем своим домом, а также в устойчивом развитии наших обществ.

В 2019 году празднование этого Дня посвящено теме «Открытая наука», которая представляет собой актуальный вопрос не только в научном сообществе, но также привлекает все большее внимание со стороны лиц и организаций, не связанных с наукой. Открытая наука — это не только открытый доступ и открытые данные, это также и доступность к научным разработкам для широкой общественности.


Несмотря на прогресс, достигнутый в последние годы, мы по-прежнему являемся свидетелями значительных различий между регионами и странами, когда речь идет о доступе к науке, технологиям и инновациям (НТИ) и использовании их преимуществ. Открытая наука является важным шагом в правильном направлении для устранения этих различий и существующего разрыва в области НТИ.

Открытый обмен научными данными, результатами исследований, гипотезами и мнениями, является основополагающим элементом научного процесса. В этом контексте «Открытая наука» — это растущее глобальное движение за обеспечение доступности научных исследований и данных для всех.

Открытая наука обладает значительным потенциалом в деле укрепления научного сотрудничества, разработки и внедрения новых технологий. Реализация открытых научных проектов может изменить ситуацию в достижении целей в области устойчивого развития, особенно в государствах Африки, развивающихся странах и малых островных развивающихся государствах.

Давайте же использовать открытую науку в качестве инструмента обеспечения доступности научных разработок, а также укрепления инклюзивности научных процессов!

Присоединяйтесь к обсуждению в социальных сетях по хештегу #ДеньНауки и #ОткрытаяНаука.

Ссылка на дополнительную информацию

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/world-science-day-for-peace-and-development-open-science-leaving-no-one-behind