World Science Day was celebrated in Almaty

1 December 2017

On 30 November 2017 UNESCO Almaty Office organized in Almaty, Kazakhstan, a round table to celebrate the World Science Day for Peace and Development.

The event brought together representatives of academia, universities, UNESCO Chairs, research institutes, science and education foundations and students. The round table discussion was focused on the theme of development of science in Kazakhstan and its interaction with the society.

During the meeting the participants discussed the challenges and problems faced by scientists and researchers in Kazakhstan, as well as shared information about existing opportunities offered by various educational and scientific foundations to support researchers. Among the challenges for the development of science in Kazakhstan, the participants stressed primarily the economic component of research activities and the lack of funding, as well as numerous bureaucratic procedures, which greatly complicate scientific activities. Another subject for discussion was popularization of science among youth. The participants exchanged ideas on how to engage young people in science-related activities using joint efforts.

The World Science Day for Peace and Development was proclaimed by the UNESCO General Conference in 2001 and since then has been celebrated annually on 10 November to draw attention to the importance of Science, Technology and Innovation in achieving sustainable development.

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/world-science-day-was-celebrated-in-almaty

Всемирный день науки отметили в Алматы

1 Декабря 2017

30 ноября 2017 года Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы организовало в г. Алматы, Казахстан, круглый стол по случаю празднования Всемирного дня науки за мир и развитие.

За круглым столом собрались представители академического сообщества, университетов, кафедр ЮНЕСКО, научно-исследовательских институтов, научно-образовательных фондов, а также студенты. Дискуссия была посвящена теме развития науки в Казахстане и её взаимодействию с обществом.

В ходе встречи участники обсудили существующие вызовы и проблемы, с которыми сталкиваются учёные и исследователи в Казахстане, а также обменялись информацией об имеющихся возможностях для поддержки ученых со стороны различных научно-образовательных фондов. Среди вызовов для развития науки в Казахстане участники отметили прежде всего экономическую составляющую научной деятельности и нехватку финансирования, а также многочисленные бюрократические процедуры, которые в значительной степени усложняют научную деятельность. Одним из поводов для дискуссий стала необходимость популяризации науки среди молодёжи. Участники обменялись идеями и предложениями о том, как, используя совместные усилия, привлечь молодое поколение к занятию наукой.

Напомним, что Всемирный день науки за мир и развитие был провозглашён Генеральной конференцией ЮНЕСКО в 2001 году и с тех пор ежегодно отмечается 10 ноября с целью обратить внимание на важность науки, технологий и инноваций в достижении устойчивого развития.

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/world-science-day-was-celebrated-in-almaty