XI Almaty Civil Society Forum

14 November 2018

The one-day Forum was attended by over 300 persons from Government, Parliament, Business, the Scientific Community, and Civil Society. The meeting was organized to discuss strategic areas of development of civil society institutions, their role in the socio-economic development of the country, recommendations and proposals on the national programs and plans, including those in Almaty. This event included a discussion on the effective implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) at the regional level.

The format of the Civic Forum was an interactive platform focused on the development and strengthening of interaction between government bodies and NGOs (non-governmental organizations) and further building the partnership.

The representatives of Government, Parliament, NGOs, mass media, researchers and activists made statements and propositions on future development of relations and cooperation between Government and NGOs.

Ms. Aliya Galimova head of Committee of Civil Society of Ministry of Social Development of Kazakhstan, noted in particular:

the Government of Kazakhstan provided ample support to civil society by funding NGOs, providing facilities, and administrative support. These efforts made it possible for civil society to participate in policy-making, implementing projects, and evaluation. However, she added that there were challenges confronting the Government, which mainly derived from costs and benefits, and which left gaps in its social development programmes, like sustaining the dependency of groups with special needs.

Different types of actors were involved in social work, said Ms. Galimova. The Ministry of Social Development relied on Public Social Councils, for example, which were staffed by an experienced and well-trained personnel, acting as the mechanism of aligning and synergizing activities with civil society and business sectors.

The interaction between the development sector and science and research was also strong but confronted some challenges. The challenges stemmed from the interaction between micro-motivations and the macro-level vision of development.

While there was growth in the partnerships between the Social Councils and public institutions, continued Government financial support was needed to increase the alliance of NGOs, business, and Government. In 2017, the tri-partite alliance received 100,000,000 KZT.

The Ministry also encouraged volunteerism by the corporate sector, which would participate in the upcoming high-level Astana National Civil Society Forum to be held from 27 to 28 November 2018, which is expected to be attended by the Head of the State.

The Government considered the role of civil society important, which is signaled by the states by not only support to civil society but also involving its main actors in legislation reforms, like giving the Civil alliance of Kazakhstan the responsibility for leading the reform process to improve the democratic quality of local governance and decision-making (more than 5,000 NGOs are registered in Almaty).

UNESCO Almaty Office


Ms. Krista Pikkat, Director of UNESCO Almaty Office speaking on behalf of UN in Kazakhstan UN in Kazakhstan

Ms. Krista Pikkat, the Head of UNESCO in Almaty, represented the UNCT at the Forum. In her speech, she underlined the key advantages of non-governmental organizations in terms of national activism, such as their cooperation with the Government of Kazakhstan, cooperation with the United Nations, flexibility and dynamism, quick response and action, and ultimately independence. She also said the Public Councils played an important role in supervising government performance in Parliament debate.

For example, to meet step 99 of the National Strategy of Kazakhstan to bring about systemic reforms to the entire society, a civil society working group in Parliament prepared a draft law on public councils with a view to increase their numbers to promote the discussions on regional development plans, budgets, evaluation, and achievement targets, all of which will have a positive impact on the right and freedoms of citizens in the country.

Some of the conclusions of the discussions:

There was a clear understanding that Civil Society services are key and complementary to (but not a substitute) for government responsibilities.

It is important for Civil Society groups to stay independent but integral to Government to grow confidence in their ability to attract support from the Government and private sector.

Civil Society can be more effective with public recognition, financial support, and Government commitment to their many causes.

Civil Society actors must also remain connected to the global community of governance, like the United Nations, and the international system in general.

The Government of Kazakhstan can advance it development objectives and activities with the support of Civil Society.

The organizing group of the Forum is to finalize the outcomes of the discussions and recommendations for further development of cooperation, which will be sent to the Astana National Civil Society Forum.

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/xi-almaty-civil-society-forum

Нести мир в сознание мужчин и женщин

XI Гражданский форум г. Алматы

14 Ноября 2018

В работе однодневного форума приняли участие более 300 представителей правительства, парламента, деловых кругов, научного сообщества и гражданского общества. Встреча была организована с целью обсуждения стратегических направлений развития институтов гражданского общества, их роли в социально-экономическом развитии страны, рекомендаций и предложений по национальным программам и планам, в том числе в Алматы. Это мероприятие включало обсуждение вопроса об эффективной реализации Целей устойчивого развития (ЦУР) на региональном уровне.

Формат Гражданского форума представлял собой интерактивную площадку, ориентированную на развитие и укрепление взаимодействия между государственными органами и НПО (неправительственными организациями) и дальнейшее развитие партнерства.

Представители Правительства, Парламента, НПО, средств массовой информации, исследователи и активисты выступили с заявлениями и предложениями относительно дальнейшего развития отношений и сотрудничества между правительством и НПО.

Г – жа Алия Галимова-руководитель Комитета гражданского общества Министерства социального развития РК, отметила:

"...Правительство Казахстана оказало всестороннюю поддержку гражданскому обществу путем финансирования НПО, предоставления помещений и административной поддержки. Эти усилия позволили гражданскому обществу участвовать в разработке политики, осуществлении проектов и оценке. Вместе с тем она добавила, что перед правительством стоят проблемы, которые обусловлены главным образом издержками и привилегиями, которые оставляют пробелы в его программах социального развития, например сохраняющаяся зависимость групп людей с особыми потребностями.

В социальной работе были задействованы разные типы акторов, отметила г-жа Галимова. Например, Министерство социального развития опирается на государственные социальные советы, которые укомплектованы опытным и хорошо подготовленным персоналом и действуют в качестве механизма согласования и координации деятельности с гражданским обществом и деловыми кругами.

Взаимодействие между сектором развития и наукой и научными исследованиями также является тесным, однако сталкивается с некоторыми проблемами.

Проблемы связаны с взаимодействием между микромотивациями и видением развития макроуровня.

Несмотря на расширение партнерских отношений между социальными советами и государственными учреждениями, необходима дальнейшая государственная финансовая поддержка для расширения альянса НПО, деловых кругов и правительства. В 2017 году трехсторонний альянс получил 100 000 000 тенге.

Министерство также поощряет волонтерство корпоративного сектора, который примет участие в предстоящем Астанинском Национальном форуме гражданского общества высокого уровня, который пройдет с 27 по 28 ноября 2018 года, в котором, как ожидается, примет участие Глава государства.

Правительство считает, что гражданское общество играет важную роль, о чем свидетельствует не только государственная поддержка гражданского общества, но и вовлечение его основных субъектов в законодательные реформы, такие как предоставление Гражданскому альянсу Казахстана ответственности за руководство процессом реформ для улучшения демократического качества местного управления и принятия решений (в Алматы зарегистрировано более 5000 НПО).


Г-жа Криста Пиккат, Директор Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы, выступает от имени ООН в Казахстане ©ООН в Казахстане

Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы

Г-жа Криста Пиккат, Директор ЮНЕСКО в Алматы, представляла страновую команду ООН в Казахстане на форуме. В своем выступлении она подчеркнула ключевые преимущества неправительственных организаций с точки зрения национальной активности, такие как их сотрудничество с правительством Казахстана, сотрудничество с Организацией Объединенных Наций, гибкость и динамизм, оперативность реагирования и действий и, в конечном счете, независимость. Она также сказала, что общественные советы играют важную роль в наблюдении за работой правительства в парламентских дебатах.

Например, чтобы выполнить шаг 99 Национальной стратегии Казахстана по проведению системных реформ для всего общества, рабочая группа гражданского общества в парламенте подготовила проект закона о общественных советах с целью увеличения их числа для содействия обсуждению региональных планов развития, бюджетов, оценки и достижения целевых показателей, все из которых окажут положительное влияние на права и свободы граждан в стране.

Некоторые выводы по итогам обсуждений:

• Было достигнуто четкое понимание того, что услуги гражданского общества являются ключевыми и дополняют (но не подменяют) обязанности правительства.

• Важно, чтобы группы гражданского общества оставались независимыми, но неотъемлемыми от правительства, чтобы они укрепляли уверенность в своей способности привлекать поддержку со стороны правительства и частного сектора.

• Гражданское общество может быть более эффективным благодаря общественному признанию, финансовой поддержке и приверженности правительства их многочисленным целям.

• Субъекты гражданского общества должны также сохранять связь с глобальным сообществом по вопросам управления, как, например, Организация Объединенных Наций, и с международной системой в целом.

• Правительство Казахстана может продвигать цели и мероприятия в области развития ИТ при поддержке гражданского общества.

Организационная группа форума доработает итоги обсуждений и рекомендации по дальнейшему развитию сотрудничества, которые будут направлены на Астанинский Национальный форум гражданского общества.

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/xi-almaty-civil-society-forum