Youth discussed the problems of the invisible people in Central Asia

20 February 2017
Workshop on Statelessness © UNESCO Almaty

On 17 February 2017, UNESCO Cluster Office in Almaty held in cooperation with the UNHCR with the support of the "TURAN" University and the Office for the Youth Policy of Almaty a three-hours workshop for young leaders to build the capacity and raise information literacy regarding the problem of statelessness in the Central Asia.

The event brought together more than 370 young people from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Hong Kong (China), Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan and USA.

This event was very interesting and informative. It made me think about many things, including the continuation of the study on this issue. It was also nice to get a personal certificate from the organizers of the workshop.

Tsoy Anastassiya, the participant of the workshop, 21 y.o.



Today statelessness is a global problem, as more than 10 million people worldwide has no nationality and are unable to exercise their basic human rights. On the territory of the Central Asian countries (Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan and Tajikistan) the number of such citizens has over passed 140,000 people.


Participant's Certificate ©UNESCO Almaty

Young leaders have actively participated in the workshop, asked questions and were highly interested in finding the solutions based on the real-life circumstances and personal examples. After the conference by Ms. Sophie Jambazishvili-Yucer, UNHCR Regional Protection Officer, who has more than 10 years of experience in the issues of statelessness, the participants discussed the pertinence of 1954 Convention Relating to the Status of Stateless Persons and 1961 Convention on the Reduction of Statelessness in the context of the Central Asia. The participants examined the definition of “stateless person” in the national legislation which is not consistent with the definition provided in the 1954 Convention and leads to the situations when persons may remain stateless for many years without having their situation solved. The discussions further concerned obligations in the international human rights law beyond those contained in the 1954 Convention, particularly with respect to guaranteeing a child’s right to a nationality as enshrined in the Convention on the Rights of the Child and the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights.

A survey among young people on the problem of statelessness and its relevance in the Central Asia was conducted during the workshop. It was carried out before and after the conference. The analysis showed that at the completion of the event, more than 85% of respondents were able to clearly answer the questions that have initially caused doubts.

"The aim of the workshop was to acquaint young people with a global problem, as well as with the methods of its prevention and elimination, as the youth is the main driving force for positive changes." – underlined Arina Plokhikh, Programme Specialist, Social and Human Sciences of the UNESCO Cluster Office in Almaty in Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/youth-discussed-the-problems-of-the-invisible-people-in-central-asia

Молодежь обсудила проблемы невидимых людей в Центральной Азии

20 Февраля 2017
Семинар по Безгражданству © ЮНЕСКО АЛматы

17 февраля 2017 года Кластерное Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Алматы в сотрудничестве с Управлением Верховного Комиссара ООН по делам беженцев (УВКБ ООН) при поддержке Университета «ТУРАН» и Управления по вопросам молодежной политики г.Алматы провели трёхчасовой Семинар для молодых лидеров по повышению потенциала и информационной грамотности касательно проблемы безгражданства на территории стран Центральной Азии.

Мероприятие объединило более 370 молодых людей, резидентов таких стран как: Афганистан, Бангладеш, Гонконг (Китай), Казахстан, Кыргызстан, Россия, США, Таджикистан, Туркменистан , Узбекистан и Украина.

Данное мероприятие оказалось очень интересным и познавательным. Оно заставило меня задуматься о многих вещах, в том числе о продолжении изучения этого вопроса. Также очень приятно было получить именной сертификат от организаторов семинара.

Цой Анастасия, участница Семинара, 21 год



На сегодняшний день безгражданство является глобальной проблемой, так как более 10 миллионов человек по всему миру проживают без гражданства и не имеют возможности воспользоваться своими основными правами человека. На территории стран Центральной Азии (Казахстан, Узбекистан, Кыргызстан, Туркменистан и Таджикистан) количество таких граждан насчитывается в более чем 140.000 человек.


Сертификат участника ©ЮНЕСКО Алматы

Молодые лидеры активно участвовали в Семинаре, задавали вопросы и интересовались решением проблемы на основе реальных жизненных обстоятельств, делились личными примерами. После выступления спикера г-жи Софии Джамбазишвили-Юджер, которая уже более 10 лет занимается вопросами безгражданства и является сотрудником УВКБ ООН по региональной защите лиц не имеющих гражданства на территории Казахстана, Кыргызстана, Таджикистана, Туркменистана и Узбекистана, участники обсудили уместность положений Конвенции о статусе апатридов 1954 года и Конвенции по сокращению безгражданства 1961 года в реалиях стран Центральной Азии. Участники изучили, каким образом определение лица без гражданства, закрепленное в национальном законодательстве и не соответствующее определению, данному в Конвенции 1954 года, приводит к ситуации, когда лицо на протяжении долгого времени остается без гражданства и его положение не может быть изменено. Дискуссия также затронула обязательства, предписываемые Конвенцией 1954 года, касательно реализации права ребёнка на гражданство, которые также закреплены в Конвенции о правах ребёнка и Международном пакте о гражданских и политических правах.

В рамках Семинара был проведен опрос среди молодежи касательно проблемы безгражданства и ее актуальности в Центральной Азии. Анкетирование проводилось до и после лекции. Проведенный анализ показал, что по завершению мероприятия более чем 85% присутствующих респондентов смогли дать правильные ответы на вопросы, которые до этого вызывали у них сомнения.

«Целью семинара являлось познакомить молодых людей с глобальной проблемой, с методами ее предотвращения и ликвидации, так как именно молодежь является главной движущей силой к позитивным переменам.» - Арина Плохих, программный специалист сектора социальных и гуманитарных наук Кластерного Бюро Юнеско в Алматы по Казахстану, Кыргызстану, Таджикистану и Узбекистану.

Постоянная ссылка: http://ru.unesco.kz/youth-discussed-the-problems-of-the-invisible-people-in-central-asia